Google Play Store Payments Available in China

Google has taken a big step to make its services accessible globally. Since the introduction of … more

How to Set a Video as Your Boot Animation

If you wish to make your phone truly unique, you may want to consider adding a nice boot animation. … more

TWRP for Nexus 6 and 9 Available, Unofficial CM12 Alpha for HTC Explorer! – XDA TV

Team Win Recovery Project for the Nexus 6 and Nexus … more

Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Anyone tried flashing Gear 2 firmware to Gear 1?

OP jnrdata

26th April 2014, 01:36 AM   |  #1  
jnrdata's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Grovetown,Ga
Thanks Meter: 12
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Now that the Gear 2 firmware is available, has anyone tried to flash it to the Gear 1 to see if possible? I'm thinking about trying it just to see what happens, but if someone else has tried and found out it's a day wrecker I'll hold off.
26th April 2014, 02:20 AM   |  #2  
jnrdata's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Grovetown,Ga
Thanks Meter: 12
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Wishful thinking.... Fails every time
26th April 2014, 12:58 PM   |  #3  
iBuzman's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 608
 
1,383 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Umm.. Gear 1 runs Android and Gear 2 runs Tizen or something - this is almost like asking has anyone flashed iOS6 on their Windows Phone isn't it? (or am I missing something here).

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk
Last edited by iBuzman; 26th April 2014 at 02:14 PM.
26th April 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #4  
jnrdata's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Grovetown,Ga
Thanks Meter: 12
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iBuzman

Umm.. Gear 1 runs Android and Gear 2 runs Tizen or something - this is almost like asking has anyone flashed iOS6 on their Windows Phone isn't it? (or am I missing something here).

Sent from my C6833 using Tapatalk

The hardware itself is almost identical between the two watches. Samsung has stated they are bringing Tizen to the Gear 1. I guess I'm just a little impatient. Maybe it could be ported to work?
Last edited by jnrdata; 26th April 2014 at 06:50 PM.
26th April 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
The original Tizen was designed as open source platform. However, after Samsung bough it, they have changed it to be a stripped down version of the androids that we see in our phones. I would assume they have made it more locked down than our typical android platforms. They did this similar to what Apple did when designing theri ios, so the dev's has to conform to their policies and make it harder to crack. Its all about money.

So even though the 2 watches are almost identical in terms of hardware, the first thing to do is try to unlock the firmware first, then we can see if it can be modified to fit the gear 1 or even any other smart watch.
26th April 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #6  
Medy89's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bballengphd

The original Tizen was designed as open source platform. However, after Samsung bough it, they have changed it to be a stripped down version of the androids that we see in our phones. I would assume they have made it more locked down than our typical android platforms. They did this similar to what Apple did when designing theri ios, so the dev's has to conform to their policies and make it harder to crack. Its all about money.

So even though the 2 watches are almost identical in terms of hardware, the first thing to do is try to unlock the firmware first, then we can see if it can be modified to fit the gear 1 or even any other smart watch.

this is interisting ... because I would consider buying a gear 2 if I could have android on it .... otherwise it would be useless to me ... and for the gear 1 .. Im not realyl fond of the size of it .... so thats sad ... they would get me sold with a gear 2 device that has android .... bad move I think .. they dont get my money.... since for just the few function it has I dont consider it really smart... so far found no device that matches these points ... except the gear 1 which is too bulky... im looking forward to that day such device with android becomes abailable
Last edited by Medy89; 26th April 2014 at 07:54 PM.
8th May 2014, 12:08 AM   |  #7  
jnrdata's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Grovetown,Ga
Thanks Meter: 12
 
62 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Just saw this today. Maybe we could get a custom rom based off of this?
http://www.androidcentral.com/samsun...and-gear-2-neo

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes