Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HELP NEEDED] Nexus 7 (2012) Screen Distortion

OP chubiprince

8th May 2014, 08:18 AM   |  #1  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Hi,

This problem has been going months now. And it's getting worse. Before, it was just happening when I open games that use Internet connections. However, this time, even if it's just opening the lock screen the distortion problem appears. Any help, please?

Links to videos of the screen problem below:

Months before
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVKhpII6MwY

Happening now
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWNleEjl6-g
8th May 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #2  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubiprince

Hi,

This problem has been going months now. And it's getting worse. Before, it was just happening when I open games that use Internet connections. However, this time, even if it's just opening the lock screen the distortion problem appears. Any help, please?

Links to videos of the screen problem below:

Months before
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVKhpII6MwY

Happening now
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWNleEjl6-g

It could be a number of things. Have you tried flashing new firmware or a custom ROM to see if it persists? Does it jump while it is booting up? Your digitizer could be going foul whilst displaying in some spectra. I had a similar problem myself on an HTC Rezound and it turns out the presence of Nova Launcher was the problem...

Take a screenshot and put it on your computer. If it looks fine, you have bad hardware, more than likely.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2013-11-15-12-04-31.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	2732319  
8th May 2014, 04:35 PM   |  #3  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

It could be a number of things. Have you tried flashing new firmware or a custom ROM to see if it persists? Does it jump while it is booting up? Your digitizer could be going foul whilst displaying in some spectra. I had a similar problem myself on an HTC Rezound and it turns out the presence of Nova Launcher was the problem...

Take a screenshot and put it on your computer. If it looks fine, you have bad hardware, more than likely.

Im using stock rom. Updated my OS via OTA. Does not jump while the boot screen is loading. I'm using Nova Launcher too. I'll try to remove Nova and see what will happen.

Anyway, this are what my screen looks like after taking a screenshot. I took this after I recorded the videos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140411_122423.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	262.2 KB
ID:	2732460   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140508_130619.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	255.6 KB
ID:	2732461  
Last edited by chubiprince; 8th May 2014 at 04:40 PM.
8th May 2014, 04:39 PM   |  #4  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubiprince

Im using stock rom. Updated my OS via OTA. I'm using Nova Launcher too. I'll try to remove Nova and see what will happen.

Anyway, this are what my screen looks like after taking a screenshot. I took this after I recorded the videos.

This is really odd... Do you mind uploading a raw screenshot?
8th May 2014, 04:42 PM   |  #5  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

This is really odd... Do you mind uploading a raw screenshot?

I really think this has not happen to any Nexus 7 users before. Tried to look for other pictures or videos all over the web, but I couldn't find anything. Okay, I will. Wait for a sec.

EDIT: One thing I also notice is that this only happens when I'm using WIFI, Mobile Data, or when any app tries to access the web PLUS when the device is starting to heat up.
Last edited by chubiprince; 8th May 2014 at 04:46 PM.
8th May 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #6  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Nothing is happening right now. My device seems normal. Will upload a raw screenshot when something happens. I'll message you too. Thanks for this! Will try to remove Nova and see what will happen.
The Following User Says Thank You to chubiprince For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #7  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubiprince

Nothing is happening right now. My device seems normal. Will upload a raw screenshot when something happens. I'll message you too. Thanks for this! Will try to remove Nova and see what will happen.

I have some doubt that Nova is the problem but you're welcome! Just keep me posted, I'll be glad to help.
9th May 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #8  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

I have some doubt that Nova is the problem but you're welcome! Just keep me posted, I'll be glad to help.

It happened again. I took a screenshot two times and all are normal. No distortions. Why is this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-09-09-53-45.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	2733435   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-09-09-51-14.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	2733436  
9th May 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #9  
kcipopnevets's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Staten Island
Thanks Meter: 34
 
227 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chubiprince

It happened again. I took a screenshot two times and all are normal. No distortions. Why is this?

Ah, for now it seems like a hardware issue. If you don't mind, whenever you have the chance, can you try using another ROM? Graphical artifacts that don't show up in the OS are usually signs of bad hardware, though...

If that's too much of a stretch to do, can I ask a couple more questions/favors?
The Following User Says Thank You to kcipopnevets For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 12:41 PM   |  #10  
chubiprince's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Cagayan de Oro City Valencia Bukidnon
Thanks Meter: 1
 
98 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcipopnevets

Ah, for now it seems like a hardware issue. If you don't mind, whenever you have the chance, can you try using another ROM? Graphical artifacts that don't show up in the OS are usually signs of bad hardware, though...

If that's too much of a stretch to do, can I ask a couple more questions/favors?

Sorry for the late reply. There was a power outage in my place, and it took hours to get the power back. Sure, I am willing to answer your questions or do any favor, as long as it will help my device.

For flashing a new ROM, well I really don't know how to flash a ROM. Plus, the instructions here are only for Windows 7. I am Windows 8 user.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes