Add Frequency Bands to Your Qualcomm Device

Those of you who travel quite a bit undoubtedly own more than one device due to frequency band … more

More Android 5.0 Details Revealed, Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker – XDA TV

Google talks more about Android 5.0 Lollipop! That and much … more

Google Allows Search Queries To Interact With Apps

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings lots of new features that are quite useful for end users and … more

Lenovo Officially Owns Motorola, Following ~$3 Billion Deal

Google is now officially no longer the owner of American phone manufacturer … more
Post Reply

Help with logcats

OP Captain Sweatpants

7th May 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #1  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Hi I am trying to resolve or at least find the cause of some inconsistent WiFi problems on a new ROM I'm using would anyone be willing to explain how to read/use a logcat for diagnosis I have read through a few guides and am confident taking a logcat but am struggling with how to read it and work out whats going wrong.

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
8th May 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #2  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

Hi I am trying to resolve or at least find the cause of some inconsistent WiFi problems on a new ROM I'm using would anyone be willing to explain how to read/use a logcat for diagnosis I have read through a few guides and am confident taking a logcat but am struggling with how to read it and work out whats going wrong.

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

Enable adb and dump your log to a file (you should know how to do that)

Then you could just search for wifi in the log. That's what I did.

A possible fix would be to edit your build.prop and set ro.securestorage.support to False (as opposed to true. See screenshot)


Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to SeraphSephiroth For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 10:46 AM   |  #3  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth

A possible fix would be to edit your build.prop and set ro.securestorage.support to False (as opposed to true.

Have dumped logcat to a text file nothing seems to be wrong except that it suddenly loses the ability to see the network I guess I will have to keep trying
Also I can't find ro.securestorage.support in my build prop should it exist in every ROM? Google is not bringing up anything on it not being there.

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
8th May 2014, 11:09 AM   |  #4  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

Have dumped logcat to a text file nothing seems to be wrong except that it suddenly loses the ability to see the network I guess I will have to keep trying
Also I can't find ro.securestorage.support in my build prop should it exist in every ROM? Google is not bringing up anything on it not being there.

Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

Might be a Samsung only thing. Um... The only other thing I've ever used is the NON-HLOS.bin from my ROM to fix the WiFi.
8th May 2014, 11:17 AM   |  #5  
Captain Sweatpants's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 83
 
329 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeraphSephiroth

Might be a Samsung only thing. Um... The only other thing I've ever used is the NON-HLOS.bin from my ROM to fix the WiFi.


Thanks I have added the value to build.prop with no effect seems that if the value did not exist adding it has no effect
NON-HLOS.bin is specific to Samsung devices this is a Sony thanks for the suggestions.
Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app
8th May 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #6  
SeraphSephiroth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
292 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

Thanks I have added the value to build.prop with no effect seems that if the value did not exist adding it has no effect
NON-HLOS.bin is specific to Samsung devices this is a Sony thanks for the suggestions.
Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

Sorry I couldn't help

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 10:19 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Sweatpants

Thanks I have added the value to build.prop with no effect seems that if the value did not exist adding it has no effect
NON-HLOS.bin is specific to Samsung devices this is a Sony thanks for the suggestions.
Sent from my C5303 using XDA Free mobile app

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...s.freshnetwork

Try that maybe

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank