Post Reply

multi users without root?

6th May 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Here at work we are gonna receive some Galaxy tab 3 10.1 tablets.
As known, the software on this tablet doesn't support multi-users. (android 4.2.2)

There is an app to do this (Multiple User Enabler or switchme), but this requires ROOT acces. I can't do that, because the tablet isn't mine. I don't want to take the risk to break it.

Does anyone know wich other options there are to do this?
Last edited by greatgonzo81; 6th May 2014 at 10:46 AM.
6th May 2014, 10:47 AM   |  #2  
Riir's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco
Thanks Meter: 375
 
573 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Seen 3 multi-user apps and all require Root rights. I guess there's no option without root.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
6th May 2014, 11:47 AM   |  #3  
Will_Xda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leicester
Thanks Meter: 532
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
I'd be interested in a non root multiuser app for Tab10.1 aswell
7th May 2014, 05:20 PM   |  #4  
HanZie82's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 2nd floor still under sea-level.
Thanks Meter: 60
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by greatgonzo81

Here at work we are gonna receive some Galaxy tab 3 10.1 tablets.
As known, the software on this tablet doesn't support multi-users. (android 4.2.2)

There is an app to do this (Multiple User Enabler or switchme), but this requires ROOT acces. I can't do that, because the tablet isn't mine. I don't want to take the risk to break it.

Does anyone know wich other options there are to do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Will_Xda

I'd be interested in a non root multiuser app for Tab10.1 aswell

It probably will never work without root!
It needes to change system files else you wont be able to switch anyhow...
The software doesnt support multi-user, so how would you want to change the software? Yup by rooting else you wont have access.
Last edited by HanZie82; 7th May 2014 at 05:23 PM.
8th May 2014, 11:32 AM   |  #5  
Will_Xda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Leicester
Thanks Meter: 532
 
1,092 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HanZie82

It probably will never work without root!
It needes to change system files else you wont be able to switch anyhow...
The software doesnt support multi-user, so how would you want to change the software? Yup by rooting else you wont have access.

Thanks for the reply i've already done this on my tab3 7.0 and upon seeing it my Manager wanted on his tab3 10.1 just thought i'd check as i dont want to root his tab if ppssible, thanks anyway mate
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Tab 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank