Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Please insert a higher class SD card for the best Zoe experience.

OP mwatson

7th May 2014, 01:09 AM   |  #1  
mwatson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 110
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Is what I get when I switch to Zoe mode. What would be the best class of SD card to use? Any manufactures better than others?
7th May 2014, 02:27 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Just get a class 10 sandisk, that's what I use without an issue but maybe let us know what class and brand you have

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th May 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #3  
mwatson's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Basingstoke
Thanks Meter: 110
 
694 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by onthezone

Just get a class 10 sandisk, that's what I use without an issue but maybe let us know what class and brand you have

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I'm using a class 10 samsung atm.
7th May 2014, 01:53 PM   |  #4  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Im getting the same message, I just got a Sandisk UHS-1 Class 10 64GB, and speedtest readings with the sandisk tool is 20+mb/s. Maybe its just a bug with it not reading how good our cards are.
7th May 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #5  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Flag NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner
Thanks Meter: 1,349
 
2,461 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen175

Im getting the same message, I just got a Sandisk UHS-1 Class 10 64GB, and speedtest readings with the sandisk tool is 20+mb/s. Maybe its just a bug with it not reading how good our cards are.

If you are having issues with SD Cards, post the format you are using, i.e. exfat, ext3, ntfs, etc... Also, how you formatted it, via laptop, or on the Android device itself.

I have a 64Gb & a 128Gb San Disk SDXC UH-1 & both work excellently. I do not know if it has been fixed, but at one point 64Gb Sd Cards came formatted in exFat, which Android did not support over 32Gb. Maybe they've fixed that, but I don't remember what I formatted to last, it was a few devices ago.
7th May 2014, 04:14 PM   |  #6  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I didn't format it, maybe thats the issue, i just threw it straight in and started using it, I'm in work now and can't check what format it is in, i'll check when i get home.

EDIT: just download an app to check and it is formatted in FAT32.

Whats the recommended format for SD cards with android?
Last edited by allen175; 7th May 2014 at 04:25 PM.
7th May 2014, 10:48 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen175

I didn't format it, maybe thats the issue, i just threw it straight in and started using it, I'm in work now and can't check what format it is in, i'll check when i get home.

EDIT: just download an app to check and it is formatted in FAT32.

Whats the recommended format for SD cards with android?

I just formated within the settings but that's strange for class 10 to have issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
7th May 2014, 10:51 PM   |  #8  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by onthezone

I just formated within the settings but that's strange for class 10 to have issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I done the same, but it formatted in HPFS/NTFS and now the sandisk app on see's the card as 10gb, but my computer see's it as the full 64gb, so going to format it back to fat32.

Hopefully someone can come up with a solution.
7th May 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Washington, DC
Thanks Meter: 38
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
More
May be this thread could shed some light on this subject:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1897260

P.S. My SanDisk 64GB card came pre-formatted and I have no issue with Zoe on M8. However, when I purchased SanDIsk Card 64GB from eBay, it showed 4 GB available space? Then I tried a generic Micro SD card 64GB and M8 would not even recognized the card due to poor contacts. I purchased mine from a local Staples and it works w/o any issues. I ended up paying few extra dollars as compare to on-line bargains but it was worth the price. In other words, you may want to try another card and see if it works.

Good Luck
8th May 2014, 01:26 PM   |  #10  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 1
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
I'll have a look through that thread later. My card is the non mobile sandisk ultra, but its still class 10 uhs-1, so I don't know why there is an issue with it, might contact HTC themselves and see if they can shed any light on it.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes