Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,471 Members 40,257 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Please insert a higher class SD card for the best Zoe experience.

Tip us?
 
mwatson
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 680
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Default Please insert a higher class SD card for the best Zoe experience.

Is what I get when I switch to Zoe mode. What would be the best class of SD card to use? Any manufactures better than others?
 
onthezone
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 285
Join Date: Mar 2007
Just get a class 10 sandisk, that's what I use without an issue but maybe let us know what class and brand you have

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
mwatson
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 105
Posts: 680
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Basingstoke
Quote:
Originally Posted by onthezone View Post
Just get a class 10 sandisk, that's what I use without an issue but maybe let us know what class and brand you have

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I'm using a class 10 samsung atm.
 
allen175
Old
#4  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Im getting the same message, I just got a Sandisk UHS-1 Class 10 64GB, and speedtest readings with the sandisk tool is 20+mb/s. Maybe its just a bug with it not reading how good our cards are.
 
GSLEON3
Old
#5  
GSLEON3's Avatar
Retired Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 1319
Posts: 2,450
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NSA Black Site Whiskey Tango Foxtrot One Niner

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen175 View Post
Im getting the same message, I just got a Sandisk UHS-1 Class 10 64GB, and speedtest readings with the sandisk tool is 20+mb/s. Maybe its just a bug with it not reading how good our cards are.
If you are having issues with SD Cards, post the format you are using, i.e. exfat, ext3, ntfs, etc... Also, how you formatted it, via laptop, or on the Android device itself.

I have a 64Gb & a 128Gb San Disk SDXC UH-1 & both work excellently. I do not know if it has been fixed, but at one point 64Gb Sd Cards came formatted in exFat, which Android did not support over 32Gb. Maybe they've fixed that, but I don't remember what I formatted to last, it was a few devices ago.
Ingress Resistance - Rainbow6


Click HERE to buy me a cheeseburger if I helped you! Or even better, find a charity or local family fighting childhood cancer & help out however you can!

A brief & incomplete timeline of my love affair with mobile technology:

 
 
allen175
Old
(Last edited by allen175; 7th May 2014 at 03:25 PM.)
#6  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
I didn't format it, maybe thats the issue, i just threw it straight in and started using it, I'm in work now and can't check what format it is in, i'll check when i get home.

EDIT: just download an app to check and it is formatted in FAT32.

Whats the recommended format for SD cards with android?
 
onthezone
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 285
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by allen175 View Post
I didn't format it, maybe thats the issue, i just threw it straight in and started using it, I'm in work now and can't check what format it is in, i'll check when i get home.

EDIT: just download an app to check and it is formatted in FAT32.

Whats the recommended format for SD cards with android?
I just formated within the settings but that's strange for class 10 to have issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
allen175
Old
#8  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
Quote:
Originally Posted by onthezone View Post
I just formated within the settings but that's strange for class 10 to have issues.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I done the same, but it formatted in HPFS/NTFS and now the sandisk app on see's the card as 10gb, but my computer see's it as the full 64gb, so going to format it back to fat32.

Hopefully someone can come up with a solution.
 
Gr8man001
Old
#9  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 68
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, DC
May be this thread could shed some light on this subject:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1897260

P.S. My SanDisk 64GB card came pre-formatted and I have no issue with Zoe on M8. However, when I purchased SanDIsk Card 64GB from eBay, it showed 4 GB available space? Then I tried a generic Micro SD card 64GB and M8 would not even recognized the card due to poor contacts. I purchased mine from a local Staples and it works w/o any issues. I ended up paying few extra dollars as compare to on-line bargains but it was worth the price. In other words, you may want to try another card and see if it works.

Good Luck
 
allen175
Old
#10  
allen175's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 46
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin
I'll have a look through that thread later. My card is the non mobile sandisk ultra, but its still class 10 uhs-1, so I don't know why there is an issue with it, might contact HTC themselves and see if they can shed any light on it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes