Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,786,517 Members 37,052 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Navigation Volume After KitKat

Tip us?
 
Trooper Thorn
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default [Q] Navigation Volume After KitKat

Ever since the KitKat update my navigation voice cannot be heard while music is playing.

Previously, Maps would pause my music and the voice would speak at full volume (or whatever volume was set).

Now, Maps does not pause the music, but instead turns it down, and the navigation voice is set to half volume. No matter how many times I turn it up, each new navigation command is once again reset to half volume, and I cannot hear it over the music that continues to play.

Is anybody else experiencing this? I've searched around a bit but all the threads on it I see are for older updates on other devices.
 
Trooper Thorn
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jan 2009
Is nobody else experiencing this? I've experienced it on two different HTC handsets after the KitKat update, so I'm assuming it's not limited to me, but I suppose you never know.
 
marctronixx
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 501
Join Date: Jul 2007
im not. stock unrooted on sprint. 4.4 update. use BT a lot in the car and the voice prompts stop the music player (poweramp) with no issues. volume is crisp and clear as its always been.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trooper Thorn View Post
Is nobody else experiencing this?
 
Trooper Thorn
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post
im not. stock unrooted on sprint. 4.4 update. use BT a lot in the car and the voice prompts stop the music player (poweramp) with no issues. volume is crisp and clear as its always been.
Thanks for that. I use Spotify for my streaming, so perhaps the issue is with Spotify. I'll download some music to the phone and try the stock music player to see.
 
marctronixx
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 501
Join Date: Jul 2007
just to clarify, poweramp is not the stock player. its 3rd party. i mainly use poweramp because it crossfades the music.
 
Trooper Thorn
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 187
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by marctronixx View Post
just to clarify, poweramp is not the stock player. its 3rd party. i mainly use poweramp because it crossfades the music.
Yeah I know. But my assumption was that it was related to Spotify specifically (which is what I use 99% of the time) and that if I tried the stock music player it would work fine.

I tested it last night, actually not with the stock music player, but instead with TuneIn Radio Pro. It worked perfectly, so I now know the issue is with a recent Spotify update.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Try to Keep Up with Just Swipe Game

Sometimes, the simplest of games are the ones that end up beingthe most addictive and end up consuming … more

MultiROM Ported to the Moto E

Few categoriesof Android development are as intrinsically interestingas the ability to boot into multiple … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Control Google Play Wake Locks – XDA Developer TV

Xposed Modules are usually pretty simple. There are a few … more

Make Text Entry More Efficient with Macro Text Expansion

One of the best things about the modern day smartphone is its ability to save us … more