Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One S stopped working. Help

OP dwa789

8th May 2014, 05:04 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I have a HTC One S cell phone that stopped working after I did a software update from the settings menu. The phone has no service (not able to connect to the network). My service provider is Wind mobile. They tried a "hard reset" or factory data reset this did not solve the problem. Then I had a technician replace the firmware and downgrade to an earlier version of software. This got the phone to work. I was able to make one call. However I was unable to pickup wifi. I tried to turn on wifi in the setting menu and then the phone stopped working again. I have tried talking to HTC customer service but they have not been able (or willing) to help.

HTC One S
model Z520m, Android

HBOOT- 2.15.0000
RADIO - 1.11.50.05.28
Open DSP - v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC - boot

device: ville
build id: JR003C
SDK version: 16
Release: 4.1.1
Incremental version: 133955.7

Does anyone know how to fix this phone?
I suspect that either the firmware installed incorrectly or is the wrong version for the phone.
Does anyone know where to get the correct version of the firmware?


Thank You,
Greg
Last edited by dwa789; 8th May 2014 at 05:21 PM. Reason: correction
8th May 2014, 05:27 PM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Sign
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwa789

I have a HTC One S cell phone that stopped working after I did a software update from the settings menu. The phone has no service (not able to connect to the network). My service provider is Wind mobile. They tried a "hard reset" or factory data reset this did not solve the problem. Then I had a technician replace the firmware and downgrade to an earlier version of software. This got the phone to work. I was able to make one call. However I was unable to pickup wifi. I tried to turn on wifi in the setting menu and then the phone stopped working again. I have tried talking to HTC customer service but they have not been able (or willing) to help.

HTC One S
model Z520m, Android

HBOOT- 2.15.0000
RADIO - 1.11.50.05.28
Open DSP - v31.1.0.45.0815
eMMC - boot

device: ville
build id: JR003C
SDK version: 16
Release: 4.1.1
Incremental version: 133955.7

Does anyone know how to fix this phone?
I suspect that either the firmware installed incorrectly or is the wrong version for the phone.
Does anyone know where to get the correct version of the firmware?


Thank You,
Greg


Connect phone in fastboot mode to your computer, open CMD commandline and type "fastboot getvat all". You will get a log.Delete your IMEI / serial from the log and post it here (The LOG not the IMEI...)
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 06:52 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Connect phone in fastboot mode to your computer, open CMD commandline and type "fastboot getvat all". You will get a log.Delete your IMEI / serial from the log and post it here (The LOG not the IMEI...)


bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 2.15.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.11.50.05.28
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 3.16.1500.7
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno:
(bootloader) imei:
(bootloader) product: vle
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8960
(bootloader) modelid: PJ4011000
(bootloader) cidnum: GLOBA001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4106mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-64bedd38
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
Last edited by dwa789; 8th May 2014 at 06:56 PM.
8th May 2014, 06:55 PM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
I'll get the link for the matching RUU file for you

There is no matching RUU OTA update is avaiable. Are you familiar with using fastboot commands? DOWNLOAD the OTA. Extract the included firmware.zip and flash it via fastboot. If it works --> good. If not you'll have to change your CID to install a RUU for unbraded versions of the phone.
Last edited by LS.xD; 8th May 2014 at 07:04 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 07:48 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Thanks for locating the OTA update. I am not familiar with using fastboot commands. Can you link me to a guide or post that explains the procedure.

Thank You,

Greg
8th May 2014, 08:23 PM   |  #6  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwa789

Thanks for locating the OTA update. I am not familiar with using fastboot commands. Can you link me to a guide or post that explains the procedure.

Thank You,

Greg

Download ADB/fastboot, uninstall HTC Sync. Connect your phone in fastboot mode, open CMD commandline an type:

"fastboot oem rebootRUU"

"fastboot flash zip firmware.zip"

"fastboot flash zip firmware.zip" (AGAIN!)

"fastboot reboot-bootloader"

Then reboot the phone to check if android is running
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I followed the steps you provided and the firmware loaded fine and Android is also running. However the phone is still not working properly. The phone was randomly switching between "no service" for several minutes and then to WIND away (roaming) and then to 4G with varying signal strength. I was able to make a brief call while the phone was in 4G mode. Now the phone seems to be stuck with "no service" again. Any ideas as to what could be the problem?

Thanks
8th May 2014, 09:42 PM   |  #8  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Sign
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwa789

I followed the steps you provided and the firmware loaded fine and Android is also running. However the phone is still not working properly. The phone was randomly switching between "no service" for several minutes and then to WIND away (roaming) and then to 4G with varying signal strength. I was able to make a brief call while the phone was in 4G mode. Now the phone seems to be stuck with "no service" again. Any ideas as to what could be the problem?

Thanks

Yes You will need to install a FULL system e.g. RUU. The firmware contains all basic partitions of your phone BUT not System, data ... If you tried instaling a OTA update and it failed --> You need a CLEAN installation.
8th May 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Yes You will need to install a FULL system e.g. RUU. The firmware contains all basic partitions of your phone BUT not System, data ... If you tried instaling a OTA update and it failed --> You need a CLEAN installation.


How do I preform a CLEAN (Full system) installation?
8th May 2014, 10:02 PM   |  #10  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Sign
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwa789

How do I preform a CLEAN (Full system) installation?


You can't. As least you can't do it by the ormal way, as there is NO stock RUU package available for your phone. You can Unlock the bootloader, set it S-OFF, then you're able to install unbranded or custom software.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes