Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

FXP Team Delivers Lollipop to Various Xperia Devices!

From all of us here at XDA-Developers, we’d like to wish you Happy Holidays! If … more

Turn Your Camera Into a Live Puzzle Game

The classic sliding puzzle game hasnt changed much, if at all, over the years. Dating all the way … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] CM causes reboot loop

OP alexander7567

8th May 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
I installed CM using CWM onto my HTC Deluxe. I tried 4 different nightlies and the 10.2 stable and after installing any of them, I get this... it reboots into the white htc screen with a quick vibrate. Then it goes black for a second and reboots again. No CM screen or anything!

I've tried flashing it multiple times, doing factory resets, clearing cache and dalvaic cache. I am at a loss as to what to do next.

Oh and with the 10.2, instead of rebooting it just gets stuck at the HTC white screen!
8th May 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 590
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
If you unlocked the bootloader with htcdev.com and are still S-On, you need to flash the boot.img via fastboot. Common cause of your type of problems.
8th May 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

If you unlocked the bootloader with htcdev.com and are still S-On, you need to flash the boot.img via fastboot. Common cause of your type of problems.

Well I looked and sure enough it is s-on. So I know the process of flashing an img with flashboot, but where can I aquire the correct boot.img? I am sure it needs to be a trusty source because I would imagine the boot image could really cause damage.
8th May 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 590
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexander7567

Well I looked and sure enough it is s-on. So I know the process of flashing an img with flashboot, but where can I aquire the correct boot.img? I am sure it needs to be a trusty source because I would imagine the boot image could really cause damage.

You just need to extract it from whichever version of CMrom.zip you are trying to use.
8th May 2014, 01:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

You just need to extract it from whichever version of CMrom.zip you are trying to use.

Okay cool! Easy enough. Question before I do this though... If I flash boot.img with fastboot, will this acheive soff? Neither rumrunner or Firewater works! And if I do this what will have have to do to go back to my stock Rom for any reason using CWM?
8th May 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 590
 
3,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexander7567

Okay cool! Easy enough. Question before I do this though... If I flash boot.img with fastboot, will this acheive soff? Neither rumrunner or Firewater works! And if I do this what will have have to do to go back to my stock Rom for any reason using CWM?

No, this will not affect S-On/Off status. This is because the bootloader unlock provided by HTC is really only a partial one. It allows you to install custom roms, themes, mods, etc, but not to allow installation of a custom kernel through recovery. That's why you have to pull it from the rom and flash it separate. Once you do that, then it will behave like normal. You can also use an app like Flashify to install the boot.img, then boot to recovery and flash the rom, if you don't have access to a PC. Just make sure to do a nandroid BEFORE that, otherwise it will back up the new kernel you flashed on top of the older OS, so might not be compatible, especially when switching between stock and CM based things.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes