What Do You Love about Lollipop?

We recently had a discussion about everything we hated about the new version of Android. From the terrible … more

New Official CM 12 Bootanimation

CyanogenMod has changed its default bootanimation to match the Material Design and overall Android Lollipop … more

Facebook Lite Now Available

The Android sphere hasa multitude of devices andwhile most apps ignore the constraints of the emerging markets, … more

A Dimmed Start for Wear: Untapped Style Potential

There are some fundamental problems with Android Wear, and smartwatches as a whole. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] CM causes reboot loop

OP alexander7567

8th May 2014, 12:07 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
I installed CM using CWM onto my HTC Deluxe. I tried 4 different nightlies and the 10.2 stable and after installing any of them, I get this... it reboots into the white htc screen with a quick vibrate. Then it goes black for a second and reboots again. No CM screen or anything!

I've tried flashing it multiple times, doing factory resets, clearing cache and dalvaic cache. I am at a loss as to what to do next.

Oh and with the 10.2, instead of rebooting it just gets stuck at the HTC white screen!
8th May 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 611
 
3,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
If you unlocked the bootloader with htcdev.com and are still S-On, you need to flash the boot.img via fastboot. Common cause of your type of problems.
8th May 2014, 01:23 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

If you unlocked the bootloader with htcdev.com and are still S-On, you need to flash the boot.img via fastboot. Common cause of your type of problems.

Well I looked and sure enough it is s-on. So I know the process of flashing an img with flashboot, but where can I aquire the correct boot.img? I am sure it needs to be a trusty source because I would imagine the boot image could really cause damage.
8th May 2014, 01:43 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 611
 
3,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexander7567

Well I looked and sure enough it is s-on. So I know the process of flashing an img with flashboot, but where can I aquire the correct boot.img? I am sure it needs to be a trusty source because I would imagine the boot image could really cause damage.

You just need to extract it from whichever version of CMrom.zip you are trying to use.
8th May 2014, 01:14 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
53 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by es0tericcha0s

You just need to extract it from whichever version of CMrom.zip you are trying to use.

Okay cool! Easy enough. Question before I do this though... If I flash boot.img with fastboot, will this acheive soff? Neither rumrunner or Firewater works! And if I do this what will have have to do to go back to my stock Rom for any reason using CWM?
8th May 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 611
 
3,207 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexander7567

Okay cool! Easy enough. Question before I do this though... If I flash boot.img with fastboot, will this acheive soff? Neither rumrunner or Firewater works! And if I do this what will have have to do to go back to my stock Rom for any reason using CWM?

No, this will not affect S-On/Off status. This is because the bootloader unlock provided by HTC is really only a partial one. It allows you to install custom roms, themes, mods, etc, but not to allow installation of a custom kernel through recovery. That's why you have to pull it from the rom and flash it separate. Once you do that, then it will behave like normal. You can also use an app like Flashify to install the boot.img, then boot to recovery and flash the rom, if you don't have access to a PC. Just make sure to do a nandroid BEFORE that, otherwise it will back up the new kernel you flashed on top of the older OS, so might not be compatible, especially when switching between stock and CM based things.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes