Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,490 Members 40,710 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] At&t phone on Tmobile network

Tip us?
 
graycd01
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] At&t phone on Tmobile network

A friend upgraded his phone to the note 3 and gave me his At&t note 2. I am with Tmobile. I am going to have it unlocked. I want to root it and flash a rom to it. Since its was on At&t network do I flash it with a rom from the At&t section or Tmobile section? If i am missing anything else that is required other than which section to use for rom flashing please feel free to inform me.
 
seejeremy
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 68
Posts: 99
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Montgomery, Al
Quote:
Originally Posted by graycd01 View Post
A friend upgraded his phone to the note 3 and gave me his At&t note 2. I am with Tmobile. I am going to have it unlocked. I want to root it and flash a rom to it. Since its was on At&t network do I flash it with a rom from the At&t section or Tmobile section? If i am missing anything else that is required other than which section to use for rom flashing please feel free to inform me.
You can flash just about any rom from the AT&T section because most do not flash over the modem you have installed. I believe the DN3 rom is the only exception to this rule. For AOSP based roms, you can flash any of the roms here. You may also want to check the N7105 XDA area because it has more options than the TMO Note 2 section.

Bajan will probably add more clarification here because he has a TMO and AT&T Note 2 and visits all 3 forum areas.
The Following User Says Thank You to seejeremy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
aaroncrooks14
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Angry save some Dough!!

I have a AT&T i337 lost service then went to local cell store.. Switched to Met==PCS.. 60/month unlimited data.. Plus they are on the T-Mobile network just as good just cheaper.. I haven't been throttled at all that I can tell...
 
PUTALE
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 1,104
Join Date: Jul 2009
I have the ATT Note 2 and currently using it with TMo and I am getting LTE speed and HSPA+ on the reform 1900 area. You don't have to do anything with the modem as long as you have it unlocked. I have only been using ATT based rom on my phone. And everything works, MMS, data, call etc. I do encounter some issue where it hangs while pulling data (not too often) but for most part it works great. I either just have to turn the network on/off or just a restart. I do not use any of the Tmo software like visual voice mail or wifi calling (as you won't be able to use it with any of the ATT ROM).
 
TheDougTechCrew
Old
#5  
TheDougTechCrew's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 69
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: DC
I have a One X on T-Mobile from AT&T and so far everything is great. Just have to be in a 1900 MHZ or LTE area to get high speed data.

Sent from my HTC One XL using XDA Free mobile app
If I help, hit "thanks"
Daily Driver: HTC ONE X(L) Evita T-Mobile
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012) Grouper

__________________________________________________ ___________________
I AM N00B FRIENDLY! ASK ME ANYTHING!
__________________________________________________ ____________________
R.I.P
LG Optimus V (Still miss it)
Samsung Galaxy Player (Replaced and gave to Mom)
iPhone 4 (Broken, will be repaired)
 
ojai00
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 293
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
I also have the i317 on T-Mobile. I am using the latest MK6 modem for the i317. You can also optionally perform the AWS Mod to enable 4G on the 1700MHz band. Whatever you do, make sure you do not flash a modem meant for the T-Mobile Note 2 (T889) or you will end up with a brick. As was already mentioned any of the ROMs in the Development section will work for this device.
Samsung SGH-I317 on T-Mobile with AWS Mod
 
SpiffySelf018@yahoo.com
Old
#7  
SpiffySelf018@yahoo.com's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 50
Join Date: May 2014
Location: lahore
Quote:
Originally Posted by graycd01 View Post
A friend upgraded his phone to the note 3 and gave me his At&t note 2. I am with Tmobile. I am going to have it unlocked. I want to root it and flash a rom to it. Since its was on At&t network do I flash it with a rom from the At&t section or Tmobile section? If i am missing anything else that is required other than which section to use for rom flashing please feel free to inform me.
You can flash it with a rom from Tmobile Section

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Hide Numbers on Your SMS and Call Logs with Reflection

How many times have you given your device to someone else in order to show them a … more

Implement Split View in Your LG G2 KitKat Rom with Automated Installer

Some of you may have remembered a story on the Portal a few weeks back … more

Cast Your Device Screen the Way it Was Meant to be with Second Screen

Not too long ago here on the XDA Portal, we covered how Google had made … more

Samsung Gear Live Unboxed the XDA Way – XDA Developer TV

XDA Developer TV Producer AdamOutleris known for his XDA Unboxingseries where … more