Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q]bootloop after succeeded guru reset and ota update

OP schnittlauch

6th May 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nienburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
At first, this is my story:

-HTC One was untouched
-flashed cyanogenmod with the installer (after some connection-issues it worked)

-wanted back to stock and used guru reset (flashed with CWM)
-wanted to update immediately up to the latest version of android
-ota update (from Htc) failed to install and the phone was stuck in a bootloop (at this state, the phone was unlocked and s-on)
(-panicked)...

-flashed CWM via fastboot
-tried to copy a rom (viper) with adb but adb could not see my Htc (but fastboot could! )
-tried to flash viper with sideload but t failed every time i tried at the end
-at least i was able flash cyanogenmod (sideload and fastboot)

-made a nandroid backup (that was stored in "mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup" (root access to see it)
-backup was 1.2Gb big, wen i had 1,2gb free space, it was 1,6Gb big, when there were 1,6Gb of unwritten storage..

so now my questions

1. Why did my it was stuck in bootloop after i tried to update it?
1.1. How can i go back to stock and do ota updates without getting this ee..nice bootloop?
2. Why could adb not see the Htc while fastboot could?
3. Why was the backup stored in the secure path
4. Is more space required for a backup? (used every single bit of my free space both times)

and at least i saw that i have a unusual(?) folder-structure. it is very
do i have ****ed up my folderstructure with adb/fastboot while i did not understand, what i was doing? (so the backups are in the "wrong" path)
that: what confused me:

system(root){mnt\sdcard\( all mediafolders..)

system(root)\mnt\shell\emulated\0\(all mediafolders...)

(legacy folder was in "system/mount/shell/emulated/0/legacy")

system(root)\storage\emulated\legacy\( all mediafolders..)

system(root)\storage\sdcard\(all mediafolders)

why there are so much ways to get to the "normal mediafolders"?
that there are to, because of the splitted internal sdcard ok but..

Thats it

I am very thankful for any help you can give me.
Last edited by schnittlauch; 6th May 2014 at 10:19 PM.
7th May 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
same
I had a very similar issue in which now I stick to CyanogenMod in search of an answer. I had previously used guru rest and ota worked well even up to 4.4.2 sense 5.5, I tried CyanogenMod once more but still missed a few features from stock, I reused guru reset and all went well till the update which seemed good till it started boot loop. The rest was done in panic tho I managed to get CyanogenMod back that's where I'm at. Please any help would be awesome.
8th May 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Nienburg
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Back to stock and ota updates.
Ok now for you and everyone interested.
For going back to Stock Htc Sense and all this stuff, you have to search for a nandroid Backup for your Htc M7. -look for your CID! (s-off is only required if you have to change your CID because you cant find a nandroid for you)
Than just flash the nandroid. (I dont know if you have to or when you need to wipe cache/dalvik..but I would do so for safety)
Next Step: Flash the stock recovery.
Now you are able to get ota updates from HTC.
With the ota update, your root will be lost, so you have to reroot it everytime you made a ota update.. (maybe there are some ways to protect the root)

Please search about this way of getting back to Stock. I am not a pro!
I am not responsible for your messed up phone..

Have a nice flash, everyone.
8th May 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,385
 
3,589 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnittlauch

1. Why did my it was stuck in bootloop after i tried to update it?
1.1. How can i go back to stock and do ota updates without getting this ee..nice bootloop?
2. Why could adb not see the Htc while fastboot could?
3. Why was the backup stored in the secure path
4. Is more space required for a backup? (used every single bit of my free space both times)

  1. Maybe because you did not choose the option in guru reset to flash stock recovery, maybe because the guru reset version doesn't match your firmware version.... hard to say without a fastboot getvar all and a link to the guru reset you tried to use.
  2. going back to stock with a RUU, with a guru reset or with a nandroid + stock recovery like you did
  3. ADB only works from booted OS or from custom recovery, not in bootloader (fastboot usb). In bootloader you can only use fastboot commands.
4 and 5) I don't know much about cwm, I'm using twrp.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes