Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,192 Members 37,636 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]bootloop after succeeded guru reset and ota update

Tip us?
 
schnittlauch
Old
(Last edited by schnittlauch; 6th May 2014 at 09:19 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nienburg
Default [Q]bootloop after succeeded guru reset and ota update

At first, this is my story:

-HTC One was untouched
-flashed cyanogenmod with the installer (after some connection-issues it worked)

-wanted back to stock and used guru reset (flashed with CWM)
-wanted to update immediately up to the latest version of android
-ota update (from Htc) failed to install and the phone was stuck in a bootloop (at this state, the phone was unlocked and s-on)
(-panicked)...

-flashed CWM via fastboot
-tried to copy a rom (viper) with adb but adb could not see my Htc (but fastboot could! )
-tried to flash viper with sideload but t failed every time i tried at the end
-at least i was able flash cyanogenmod (sideload and fastboot)

-made a nandroid backup (that was stored in "mnt/shell/emulated/clockworkmod/backup" (root access to see it)
-backup was 1.2Gb big, wen i had 1,2gb free space, it was 1,6Gb big, when there were 1,6Gb of unwritten storage..

so now my questions

1. Why did my it was stuck in bootloop after i tried to update it?
1.1. How can i go back to stock and do ota updates without getting this ee..nice bootloop?
2. Why could adb not see the Htc while fastboot could?
3. Why was the backup stored in the secure path
4. Is more space required for a backup? (used every single bit of my free space both times)

and at least i saw that i have a unusual(?) folder-structure. it is very
do i have ****ed up my folderstructure with adb/fastboot while i did not understand, what i was doing? (so the backups are in the "wrong" path)
that: what confused me:

system(root){mnt\sdcard\( all mediafolders..)

system(root)\mnt\shell\emulated\0\(all mediafolders...)

(legacy folder was in "system/mount/shell/emulated/0/legacy")

system(root)\storage\emulated\legacy\( all mediafolders..)

system(root)\storage\sdcard\(all mediafolders)

why there are so much ways to get to the "normal mediafolders"?
that there are to, because of the splitted internal sdcard ok but..

Thats it

I am very thankful for any help you can give me.
 
rgjj
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default same

I had a very similar issue in which now I stick to CyanogenMod in search of an answer. I had previously used guru rest and ota worked well even up to 4.4.2 sense 5.5, I tried CyanogenMod once more but still missed a few features from stock, I reused guru reset and all went well till the update which seemed good till it started boot loop. The rest was done in panic tho I managed to get CyanogenMod back that's where I'm at. Please any help would be awesome.
 
schnittlauch
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nienburg
Default Back to stock and ota updates.

Ok now for you and everyone interested.
For going back to Stock Htc Sense and all this stuff, you have to search for a nandroid Backup for your Htc M7. -look for your CID! (s-off is only required if you have to change your CID because you cant find a nandroid for you)
Than just flash the nandroid. (I dont know if you have to or when you need to wipe cache/dalvik..but I would do so for safety)
Next Step: Flash the stock recovery.
Now you are able to get ota updates from HTC.
With the ota update, your root will be lost, so you have to reroot it everytime you made a ota update.. (maybe there are some ways to protect the root)

Please search about this way of getting back to Stock. I am not a pro!
I am not responsible for your messed up phone..

Have a nice flash, everyone.
 
alray
Old
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,089
Posts: 2,816
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by schnittlauch View Post
1. Why did my it was stuck in bootloop after i tried to update it?
1.1. How can i go back to stock and do ota updates without getting this ee..nice bootloop?
2. Why could adb not see the Htc while fastboot could?
3. Why was the backup stored in the secure path
4. Is more space required for a backup? (used every single bit of my free space both times)
  1. Maybe because you did not choose the option in guru reset to flash stock recovery, maybe because the guru reset version doesn't match your firmware version.... hard to say without a fastboot getvar all and a link to the guru reset you tried to use.
  2. going back to stock with a RUU, with a guru reset or with a nandroid + stock recovery like you did
  3. ADB only works from booted OS or from custom recovery, not in bootloader (fastboot usb). In bootloader you can only use fastboot commands.
4 and 5) I don't know much about cwm, I'm using twrp.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes