Fix Lollipop Memory Leak – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Unfortunately there was a memory leak in Android 5.0.x Lollipop. Thankfully it was … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Moto G (2014)

After the release of Android 5.1, the CyanogenMod 12.1 madness continues. The Moto G (2014) … more

Would The LG G4 Fare Well With The Snapdragon 808?

The LG G4 has a lot to prove, given that last year’s LG G3 was among the best … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Android One

Android One devices once again got a pretty stable release of Android 5.1. XDA Recognized … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Pulling data from a cracked screen Nexus

8th May 2014, 10:06 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hi there. I have a Nexus with a cracked screen. It's completely unusable and i'm trying to pull some data off it. It's running stock firmware so there is no custom recovery installed. Any help would be appreciated.
8th May 2014, 10:17 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 184
 
304 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!
8th May 2014, 10:26 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by madbat99

Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!

No, unfortunately. I can see the tablet in the file browser but it has nothing on it. I can't put the password in if that makes a difference.
8th May 2014, 10:37 PM |#4  
MidnightDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 957
 
2,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Actually putting the password would mount the internal drive... Hence, your information would be accessible. A way to remove the password / disable lock screen would work and your information would show up.

Sent using a walkie talkie.
8th May 2014, 11:10 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Great! Any ideas on how to do that without the touchscreen? Thanks for the help
8th May 2014, 11:29 PM |#6  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Otg cable and a mouse 😉

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
10th May 2014, 12:22 PM |#7  
a1317931279's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Changde,Hunan
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
use the nexus 7 toolkit

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes