MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more
Post Reply

[Q] Pulling data from a cracked screen Nexus

8th May 2014, 10:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Hi there. I have a Nexus with a cracked screen. It's completely unusable and i'm trying to pull some data off it. It's running stock firmware so there is no custom recovery installed. Any help would be appreciated.
8th May 2014, 10:17 PM   |  #2  
Member
Flag New Orleans
Thanks Meter: 5
 
35 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!
8th May 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by madbat99

Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!

No, unfortunately. I can see the tablet in the file browser but it has nothing on it. I can't put the password in if that makes a difference.
8th May 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #4  
MidnightDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lisbon
Thanks Meter: 852
 
2,239 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Actually putting the password would mount the internal drive... Hence, your information would be accessible. A way to remove the password / disable lock screen would work and your information would show up.

Sent using a walkie talkie.
8th May 2014, 11:10 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Great! Any ideas on how to do that without the touchscreen? Thanks for the help
8th May 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #6  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Otg cable and a mouse 😉

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
10th May 2014, 12:22 PM   |  #7  
a1317931279's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Changde,Hunan
Thanks Meter: 3
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
use the nexus 7 toolkit

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nexus 7 (2013) Q&A by ThreadRank