Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,360 Members 50,336 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Pulling data from a cracked screen Nexus

Tip us?
 
Datastorm1
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default [Q] Pulling data from a cracked screen Nexus

Hi there. I have a Nexus with a cracked screen. It's completely unusable and i'm trying to pull some data off it. It's running stock firmware so there is no custom recovery installed. Any help would be appreciated.
 
madbat99
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 29
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: New Orleans
Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!
 
Datastorm1
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by madbat99 View Post
Can you plug it in USB to PC and just copy all the data you want? I replaced the screen on mine. Bought LCD+digitizer assembly for 75 bucks on eBay. It was actually pretty easy. And I've never done it before!
No, unfortunately. I can see the tablet in the file browser but it has nothing on it. I can't put the password in if that makes a difference.
 
MidnightDevil
Old
#4  
MidnightDevil's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 846
Posts: 2,221
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Lisbon
Actually putting the password would mount the internal drive... Hence, your information would be accessible. A way to remove the password / disable lock screen would work and your information would show up.

Sent using a walkie talkie.

Mobile: LG Optimus 4X HD
Mobile: Google Nexus 5
Tablet: Google Nexus 7 2013 Wii

Be tolerant and use Good & Common HTC Sense! :P.

--- Interesting Reading ---
Android Terms / Slangs / Definitions and Guides Revised
What exactly batterystats.bin does.

Get 15GB of Free Space!!!

Don't post just to increase your post count, make sure you know what you're talking about before posting to reduce the amount of false information.
MD

 
Datastorm1
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Sep 2012
Great! Any ideas on how to do that without the touchscreen? Thanks for the help
 
deadgiveaway
Old
#6  
deadgiveaway's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 145
Join Date: Apr 2014
Otg cable and a mouse 😉

Sent from my LG-D803 using XDA Free mobile app
 
a1317931279
Old
#7  
a1317931279's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 29
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Changde,Hunan
use the nexus 7 toolkit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more