Post Reply

[Q] May have softbricked phone, need help

7th May 2014, 05:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
I was interested in upgrading to Kitkat, and when I used Odin to flash it, it all went smoothly, said complete, then when it restarted it only gets to black screen after the samsung splash. I'm not sure what to do from here, was hoping one of the wizards here would know.
7th May 2014, 06:38 AM   |  #2  
Harleydroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag The Fort
Thanks Meter: 624
 
1,494 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by macaronimancer

I was interested in upgrading to Kitkat, and when I used Odin to flash it, it all went smoothly, said complete, then when it restarted it only gets to black screen after the samsung splash. I'm not sure what to do from here, was hoping one of the wizards here would know.

Are you trying to update to the rooted 4.4.2 build by Beanstown? If so you have to be rooted on 4.3 and flash his odex or deodexed build with safestrap 3.65. Then boot to download mode and flash the firmware with odin. If you tried to just flash the firmware it's not going to work.
Follow the direction in this threads op.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2740466

*** How To Update From JB 4.3 To KK 4.4.2 On Verizon RETAIL NOTE 3 ***
The Following User Says Thank You to Harleydroid For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harleydroid

Are you trying to update to the rooted 4.4.2 build by Beanstown? If so you have to be rooted on 4.3 and flash his odex or deodexed build with safestrap 3.65. Then boot to download mode and flash the firmware with odin. If you tried to just flash the firmware it's not going to work.
Follow the direction in this threads op.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2740466

*** How To Update From JB 4.3 To KK 4.4.2 On Verizon RETAIL NOTE 3 ***

I'm currently trying to get it back to normal, I think I'm on the right track. I'll update when this is done.
7th May 2014, 07:38 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Thumbs up
thanks a ton, That's the resource I needed. I flashed it back and I'm back in business. Now on to rooting. There's tons of stuff on here to help me with that though. +1 internets for you sir.
8th May 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
I have the same problem can you tell me how you got back to normal?
8th May 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 972
 
3,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakMajick

I have the same problem can you tell me how you got back to normal?

You're going to have to install the VRUBMJE .tar.md5 file through Odin with your phone in download mode (hold volume down, power and home with the device turned off), then reroot with Kingo 1.1.6. You do not need the PIT file for Odin.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2483380
The Following User Says Thank You to airmaxx23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Thanks Ill ry this now. Ill let you know if I am successful.
8th May 2014, 09:09 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 972
 
3,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakMajick

Thanks Ill ry this now. Ill let you know if I am successful.

It should work fine and won't take very long, I've had to do this once recently and did not have any issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to airmaxx23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 10:38 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
Fixed it but had to use Vroot instead. Thank you for your help!
The Following User Says Thank You to BlakMajick For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 11:06 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Colton, NY
Thanks Meter: 972
 
3,210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlakMajick

Fixed it but had to use Vroot instead. Thank you for your help!

No problem, I'm glad you're up and running again.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank