Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Sprint S5 on T-Mobile Network

OP krelvinaz

6th May 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #1  
krelvinaz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Son-in-law switched from Sprint to T-mobile last night. Apparently, he kept his same phone with just the SIM changed out.
Kinda curious what if any issues he might have using it on T-Mobile.

Chatting with him on hangouts, he said that he has yet to see LTE but he has been in the office all day and hasn't moved around much yet.

I know that he would not have WiFi calling as that would require a T-Mobile rom but, I couldn't find much info searching...
6th May 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 36
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz

Son-in-law switched from Sprint to T-mobile last night. Apparently, he kept his same phone with just the SIM changed out.
Kinda curious what if any issues he might have using it on T-Mobile.

Chatting with him on hangouts, he said that he has yet to see LTE but he has been in the office all day and hasn't moved around much yet.

I know that he would not have WiFi calling as that would require a T-Mobile rom but, I couldn't find much info searching...

He will never get LTE with that phone,frequencies are not compatible.
The Following User Says Thank You to grncherry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th May 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #3  
krelvinaz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Mesa AZ
Thanks Meter: 556
 
2,315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grncherry

He will never get LTE with that phone,frequencies are not compatible.

Kind of what I thought.... THANKS!
9th May 2014, 02:12 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Sprint LTE use band 25, 26, and 41 where as Tmobile use LTE band 2, 4, and soon 12. Sprint phones have none of the LTE bands of other gsm carriers.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes