App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more
Post Reply

LTE while tethering

6th May 2014, 04:14 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance
7th May 2014, 05:58 PM   |  #2  
martybg's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Walnut Creek, CA
Thanks Meter: 8
 
182 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
I'm interested in this matter too
7th May 2014, 07:57 PM   |  #3  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,388
 
6,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz

Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance

Are you stock? You're gonna need to use a root explorer and change the tethering apn. By default it's set only to use the 4g network. Or flash a custom ROM.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
8th May 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Are you stock? You're gonna need to use a root explorer and change the tethering apn. By default it's set only to use the 4g network. Or flash a custom ROM.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk


Yes, stock unlocked rooted t-mobile

I do have root explorer, can you please tell me how can i change the APN

Thanks
8th May 2014, 11:30 PM   |  #5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4,388
 
6,829 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz

Yes, stock unlocked rooted t-mobile

I do have root explorer, can you please tell me how can i change the APN

Thanks

Its easiest to do it on a computer.

go to /csc/customer.xml

you should see something that looks like this in that file (easiest to copy it to sd card then to computer to edit)

Code:
<Profile>
        <NetworkName>T-Mobile</NetworkName>
        <Editable>no</Editable>
        <EnableStatus>enable</EnableStatus>
        <ProfileName>T-Mobile Tethering</ProfileName>
        <Auth>none</Auth>
        <MTUSize>1440</MTUSize>
        <Bearer>ps</Bearer>
        <Protocol>http</Protocol>
        <Proxy>
          <EnableFlag>off</EnableFlag>
        </Proxy>
        <PSparam>
          <APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>
        </PSparam>
      </Profile>
Where it says "<APN>" change it to what you see that i have. It probably says "epc.tmobile.com" it should say what i have posted.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz

Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance

Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app
9th May 2014, 03:39 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcar6245

Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:35 PM ----------



Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app

Yes, I do

From the PC, I use User Agent Switcher extension for Chrome, then select GoogleBot profile, this will bypass the blocking
9th May 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb

Its easiest to do it on a computer.

go to /csc/customer.xml

you should see something that looks like this in that file (easiest to copy it to sd card then to computer to edit)

Code:
<Profile>
        <NetworkName>T-Mobile</NetworkName>
        <Editable>no</Editable>
        <EnableStatus>enable</EnableStatus>
        <ProfileName>T-Mobile Tethering</ProfileName>
        <Auth>none</Auth>
        <MTUSize>1440</MTUSize>
        <Bearer>ps</Bearer>
        <Protocol>http</Protocol>
        <Proxy>
          <EnableFlag>off</EnableFlag>
        </Proxy>
        <PSparam>
          <APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>
        </PSparam>
      </Profile>
Where it says "<APN>" change it to what you see that i have. It probably says "epc.tmobile.com" it should say what i have posted.

I did exactly what did you say, I edited the file on PC, then copied back under /csc/ and it ask if you want to replace the file, but i get the following message and the task is not completed


Copy Task Failed
/system/csc/customer.xml: open failed: EROFS (read only file system)


UPDATE:

After turning Root explorer on

I am getting a permission denied error

Thank you
Last edited by aqatramiz; 9th May 2014 at 04:50 AM. Reason: explain what i did
9th May 2014, 05:37 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
153 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz

I did exactly what did you say, I edited the file on PC, then copied back under /csc/ and it ask if you want to replace the file, but i get the following message and the task is not completed


Copy Task Failed
/system/csc/customer.xml: open failed: EROFS (read only file system)


UPDATE:

After turning Root explorer on

I am getting a permission denied error

Thank you

Use Solid Explorer granted root rights
9th May 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
32 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ispot

Use Solid Explorer granted root rights

Worked thank you

Now i am testing LTE tethering

UPDATE:

My APN Node updated to

<APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>

But still not able to tether while i am on LTE, anyone has an idea?

Thanks
Last edited by aqatramiz; 11th May 2014 at 07:56 PM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes