Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,957 Members 38,727 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LTE while tethering

Tip us?
 
aqatramiz
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default LTE while tethering

Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance
 
martybg
Old
#2  
martybg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 182
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Walnut Creek, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
I'm interested in this matter too
 
elesbb
Old
#3  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4309
Posts: 6,717
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz View Post
Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance
Are you stock? You're gonna need to use a root explorer and change the tethering apn. By default it's set only to use the 4g network. Or flash a custom ROM.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
aqatramiz
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
Are you stock? You're gonna need to use a root explorer and change the tethering apn. By default it's set only to use the 4g network. Or flash a custom ROM.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Yes, stock unlocked rooted t-mobile

I do have root explorer, can you please tell me how can i change the APN

Thanks
 
elesbb
Old
#5  
elesbb's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4309
Posts: 6,717
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz View Post
Yes, stock unlocked rooted t-mobile

I do have root explorer, can you please tell me how can i change the APN

Thanks
Its easiest to do it on a computer.

go to /csc/customer.xml

you should see something that looks like this in that file (easiest to copy it to sd card then to computer to edit)

Code:
<Profile>
        <NetworkName>T-Mobile</NetworkName>
        <Editable>no</Editable>
        <EnableStatus>enable</EnableStatus>
        <ProfileName>T-Mobile Tethering</ProfileName>
        <Auth>none</Auth>
        <MTUSize>1440</MTUSize>
        <Bearer>ps</Bearer>
        <Protocol>http</Protocol>
        <Proxy>
          <EnableFlag>off</EnableFlag>
        </Proxy>
        <PSparam>
          <APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>
        </PSparam>
      </Profile>
Where it says "<APN>" change it to what you see that i have. It probably says "epc.tmobile.com" it should say what i have posted.
The Following User Says Thank You to elesbb For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jcar6245
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Apr 2014
Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:35 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz View Post
Hello

I have an unlocked rooted t-mobile, currently I am using metro-pcs

I am using Wifi Tether app for tethering, the problem whenever I am on 4g, the app 100% working, but whenever my phone tune to LTE, the tethering will stop working (no data activity- Download & upload)

Anyone who fixed this problem before?

Thanks in advance
Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app
 
aqatramiz
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcar6245 View Post
Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app

---------- Post added at 06:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:35 PM ----------



Question , do you have the 60$ unlimited 4G plan from Metro PCS and if you do how do you bypass the tether blocking ? I got the galaxy mega from MetroPCS rooted but cant use the tethering because is notbin my plan

Sent from my SGH-M819N using XDA Free mobile app
Yes, I do

From the PC, I use User Agent Switcher extension for Chrome, then select GoogleBot profile, this will bypass the blocking
 
aqatramiz
Old
(Last edited by aqatramiz; 9th May 2014 at 04:50 AM.) Reason: explain what i did
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by elesbb View Post
Its easiest to do it on a computer.

go to /csc/customer.xml

you should see something that looks like this in that file (easiest to copy it to sd card then to computer to edit)

Code:
<Profile>
        <NetworkName>T-Mobile</NetworkName>
        <Editable>no</Editable>
        <EnableStatus>enable</EnableStatus>
        <ProfileName>T-Mobile Tethering</ProfileName>
        <Auth>none</Auth>
        <MTUSize>1440</MTUSize>
        <Bearer>ps</Bearer>
        <Protocol>http</Protocol>
        <Proxy>
          <EnableFlag>off</EnableFlag>
        </Proxy>
        <PSparam>
          <APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>
        </PSparam>
      </Profile>
Where it says "<APN>" change it to what you see that i have. It probably says "epc.tmobile.com" it should say what i have posted.
I did exactly what did you say, I edited the file on PC, then copied back under /csc/ and it ask if you want to replace the file, but i get the following message and the task is not completed


Copy Task Failed
/system/csc/customer.xml: open failed: EROFS (read only file system)


UPDATE:

After turning Root explorer on

I am getting a permission denied error

Thank you
 
ispot
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 153
Join Date: May 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by aqatramiz View Post
I did exactly what did you say, I edited the file on PC, then copied back under /csc/ and it ask if you want to replace the file, but i get the following message and the task is not completed


Copy Task Failed
/system/csc/customer.xml: open failed: EROFS (read only file system)


UPDATE:

After turning Root explorer on

I am getting a permission denied error

Thank you
Use Solid Explorer granted root rights
 
aqatramiz
Old
(Last edited by aqatramiz; 11th May 2014 at 07:56 PM.)
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ispot View Post
Use Solid Explorer granted root rights
Worked thank you

Now i am testing LTE tethering

UPDATE:

My APN Node updated to

<APN>fast.t-mobile.com</APN>

But still not able to tether while i am on LTE, anyone has an idea?

Thanks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Chromecast Rootable Once Again!

Over the six months, theGoogle Chromecasthas gained a considerable amount of official functionality. … more

YAATA isn’t Just Another Android Texting App

Although our mobile devices today are capable of executingnearly every task we normally … more

MacroDroid Update Brings Android Wear Automation

A few months ago, we talked about MacroDroid. For those who don’t remember, MacroDroid … more

Droid X Receives KitKat Port, Upcoming Google Glass Firmware Improvements – XDA Developer TV

Android 4.4.3 lands on the European HTC … more