5,814,981 Members 39,837 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] SafeStrap Stock Rom Backup?

Tip us?
 
Volvogia
Old
#1  
Volvogia's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 139
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, WV
Default [Q] SafeStrap Stock Rom Backup?

Hey guys I have a question. Im new to the newer basebands on the S4 so Im a little confused with all the safestrap stuff (you can thank my phone for having MDK that im so out of date lol). I bought my girlfriend a S4 off Swappa and it has MK2. Did all my XDA and googling and I have all my files and such for root and safestrap but here is my question. Once I get safestrap installed on her phone, is it necessary to do a backup of the Stock Base Rom? I dont see a point since it should not be touched in the 1st place and only use ROM slots for loading but Im not sure so I want to ask all you experts on this. Thanks guys
 
douger1957
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 49
Posts: 435
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bel Air
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volvogia View Post
Hey guys I have a question. Im new to the newer basebands on the S4 so Im a little confused with all the safestrap stuff (you can thank my phone for having MDK that im so out of date lol). I bought my girlfriend a S4 off Swappa and it has MK2. Did all my XDA and googling and I have all my files and such for root and safestrap but here is my question. Once I get safestrap installed on her phone, is it necessary to do a backup of the Stock Base Rom? I dont see a point since it should not be touched in the 1st place and only use ROM slots for loading but Im not sure so I want to ask all you experts on this. Thanks guys
I wouldn't think that you'd need to back it up. The MK2 .tar file is in the development section. Just ODIN back per the directions.

If you upgrade to KitKat... NC2 or NC5, there's a thread in that section that gives a fairly involved process to go back to MK2.


Verizon Samsung Galaxy 4 Hyperdrive ROM RLS 14 Safestrapped on MK2 Base
The Following User Says Thank You to douger1957 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Volvogia
Old
#3  
Volvogia's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 139
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, WV
Quote:
Originally Posted by douger1957 View Post
I wouldn't think that you'd need to back it up. The MK2 .tar file is in the development section. Just ODIN back per the directions.

If you upgrade to KitKat... NC2 or NC5, there's a thread in that section that gives a fairly involved process to go back to MK2.
Thanks for the response . I dont plan on going to 4.4 unless Sbreen gets Hyperdrive on 4.4 and even then I may just stick with 4.3. RLS 15 Hyperdrive is what im going to install for her. Thanks for the help!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes