Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,758 Members 38,506 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

LTE Problem

Tip us?
 
dkahs23
Old
(Last edited by dkahs23; 27th April 2014 at 09:27 PM.)
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 383
Join Date: Aug 2011
Default LTE Problem

Ever since I took OTA update I cannot get the LTE to stay locked on it keeps going back to 3g. My wife has the same phone and hers stays in LTE. So I know it isn't the towers. She took the OTA update also. The only difference is mine is rooted on the new KK. Anyone else have that problem? Sorry I'm on Verizon Network VS980 4gG LTE
 
dkahs23
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 383
Join Date: Aug 2011
Well I downgraded back to Jelly Bean VS98012B and stayed stock without root and still have the same problem with LTE. I switched Airplane mode off and then back on and I get LTE with 2 bars then it goes back to 3g with 2 bars. I wonder if its the phone or if I am being throttled by Verizon?
 
dkahs23
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 383
Join Date: Aug 2011
Well I seem to be answering my own questions. Turns out my sim card is bad. I tried my wife's and the phone went to LTE and stayed. I put mine in her phone and it stayed 3g. So hope this helps anyone else that would experience this. Glad its not the phone.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium HD app
The Following User Says Thank You to dkahs23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
braxync
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkahs23 View Post
Well I seem to be answering my own questions. Turns out my sim card is bad. I tried my wife's and the phone went to LTE and stayed. I put mine in her phone and it stayed 3g. So hope this helps anyone else that would experience this. Glad its not the phone.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium HD app

I'm actually having the same thing... keeps switching to 3G randomly, after a reboot it'll go to 4G LTE and usually stay, but often if I make a call, or do something it'll switch back to 3G for some time, then maybe go back to 4G... stock KK rooted here too

Did the SIM card fix it for you permanently? I may try getting a new one if so.
 
dr_w
Old
#5  
dr_w's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 72
Posts: 567
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California

 
DONATE TO ME
I'll second this. Had the same problem. New sim card and bam, fixed. For some reason I think going to international ROMs (cloudy and optimus) caused this.... The 3g roaming thing.. which is a shame because their ROMs are freaking awesome.

Sent from my VS980 4G using Tapatalk
 
dkahs23
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 383
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by braxync View Post
I'm actually having the same thing... keeps switching to 3G randomly, after a reboot it'll go to 4G LTE and usually stay, but often if I make a call, or do something it'll switch back to 3G for some time, then maybe go back to 4G... stock KK rooted here too

Did the SIM card fix it for you permanently? I may try getting a new one if so.
Yeah I went to my local mom & pop Verizon store and the idiot behind the counter said my old LTE sim card wasn't NFC ( Near Field Communications) complaint. Why is he an idiot that's another story. But I don't know how NFC has anything to do with the sim card. Anyway I bought a new one because they weren't a official Verizon store, supposedly the official store will give you a new sim card. But now the phone works like it is suppose too.

Sent from my Xoom using XDA Premium HD app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more