Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,801 Members 44,218 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] New galaxy note 3 4G not working please help.

Tip us?
 
Kawdam91
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] New galaxy note 3 4G not working please help.

Hi,

I have a mobile phone contract with 3 ( Three ) network in the UK and i had a Galaxy S3 which i sold today and part ex'd towards a new Samsung Galaxy Note 3 SM-N9005, the phone is unlocked and i updated to the latest 4.4.2 firmware with a small stability update about 29MB after the main install had finished.

I can see under the mobile network options LTE/WCDMA/GSM is set to auto connect does this sound correct?

I am only getting 3G H+ and i am in a 4G ready area, i have rang 3 and they have said that everything checks out and my sim is LTE activated and they don't understand why it does not work the only thing they can do is ring me back tomorrow due to me being at work and try my sim in other 4G phones like my sisters HTC One Mini and my Mums Xperia Z which are both O2 unlocked phones.

Is there anything i can do to get the 4G activated i will be seriously annoyed if they turn round and say due to your phone not being from 3 you cannot use our 4G network as i have unlimited tethering and need 4G as my upgrade for internet on my laptop plus it cost me a bomb buying this phone out right.

Thanks.
 
d4c
Old
#2  
d4c's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 462
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Liverpool
When you first set up the phone did you have to choose a mobile network? Also try checking more networks/Mobile networks/check data is checked and/or go to access point names and check if you have a three apn.
John 3:16

"For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life"
 
launton
Old
#3  
launton's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 68
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
I'm with 3. Where did you get the N3 from? I found that mine was originally from United Emirates (although sold as European model on Amazon Marketplace... never again... anyway) and although it said 4G was available and the phone was set to receive it I actually had to flash the polish rom for the thing to connect to 4G. (see below as yours may just need an APN tweak)

Here's my APN settings that work:

Name: 3

APN: three.co.uk

Proxy:

Not set

Port:

Not set

Username:

Not set

Password:

Not set

Server:

Not set

MMSC:

http://mms.um.three.co.uk:10021/mmsc

MMS proxy:

217.171.129.2

MMS port:

8799

MCC:

234

MNC:

20

Authentication type:

None

APN type:

not set

APN protocol:

IPv4

APN roaming protocol:

IPv4

Enable/disable APN:

APN enabled

Bearer:

Not specified

Mobile virtual network type

None

I suspect there's a setting amiss so try the above first, I doubt you need to flast your handset. I was just impatient and I also have to be in the city centre for 4G to work, it's still a bit sporadic despite what the coverage checker says
 
Kawdam91
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Thank you both for the replies,

The mobile is from CEX i got a good deal on trade ins towards the phone plus a decent voucher for my S3 the phone was pricey but after a bad experience on Gumtree i try to buy as legit as possible, i will check my settings to yours thanks for taking the time to type that up for me.

I have an update on the issue i noticed that i do have 4G but the signal is so so weak that when the 4G is on which is very rare there are zero bars of reception and it runs at like dial up speeds, i also think the coverage checker is lying to me also should of waited to upgrade and saved the money did not realise 4G was still in a poor state.

Thanks.
 
finalzero
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 128
Join Date: Dec 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kawdam91 View Post
Thank you both for the replies,

The mobile is from CEX i got a good deal on trade ins towards the phone plus a decent voucher for my S3 the phone was pricey but after a bad experience on Gumtree i try to buy as legit as possible, i will check my settings to yours thanks for taking the time to type that up for me.

I have an update on the issue i noticed that i do have 4G but the signal is so so weak that when the 4G is on which is very rare there are zero bars of reception and it runs at like dial up speeds, i also think the coverage checker is lying to me also should of waited to upgrade and saved the money did not realise 4G was still in a poor state.

Thanks.
Hi, I am on the same network and I only got 4G in a few limited areas.

I took the plunge yesterday and reflashed my phone with a custom boot loader and ROM (Carbonrom) and then noticed I was only getting LTE....technically LTE = 4G but that's not quite true with Three networks.

What I did to fix this was to pull out the Modem.bin file from a legit KitKat 4.4.2 Samsung image and then repackage it as a tar.md5 file. I then used Odin 3.09 to flash the modem file to the phone and this seems to have done the trick - speeds are acceptable now.

---------- Post added at 11:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:29 PM ----------

Just did a speedtest (this is after applying the UK Samsung Modem package):



The above look good, typical of a 4G network (coincidently I only ever see 1 bar)
 
Kawdam91
Old
(Last edited by Kawdam91; 10th May 2014 at 10:49 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
My Settings as follow:

Name
3

APN
Three.co.uk

Proxy
Not Set

Port
Not Set

Username
Not Set

Password
Not Set

Server
Not Set

MMSC
mms.um.three.co.uk:10021/mmsc

MMS Proxy
mms.three.co.uk

MMS Port
8799

MCC
234

MNC
20

Authentication Type
PAP

APN Type
default,mms,supl

APN Protocol
IPv4

APN Roaming Protocol
IPv4

Enable/Disable APN
APN Enabled

Bearer
Unspecified

Mobile Virtual Network Operator Type
None

Mobile Virtual Network Operator Value

There will be a slight learning curve with the flashing roms etc that you mentioned no doubt it is not that hard to do though, the speed test on my phone gets between 5 and 10mbps on H+ 3G with 0.5-2mbps upload when USB tethering though i get around 50kbps and 300kbps download and speed test from laptop is 60-120ping with 1-8mbps Download with 0.5-1mbps.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more