Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,909 Members 50,272 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Is there a way to unblock inbound traffic?

Tip us?
 
squat251
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default [Q] Is there a way to unblock inbound traffic?

I cannot ping my IP while tethering on my phone. Is there a way to unblock inbound connections on the site, or is it a phone option? There are apps to do this, but they all say you need to be able to ping the phone, and I can't.

I use my phone's tethering as my main internet while at home (unlimited plan) but can't host any games because no one can connect to me.
 
squat251
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Still not a thing? I can't ask anywhere else due to the post limitations.
 
jpradley
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 267
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
While your computer is tethered to the Internet through your phone, what are the IP numbers of the phone and of the computer?
What IP number are you trying to ping, and whence?
 
squat251
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpradley View Post
While your computer is tethered to the Internet through your phone, what are the IP numbers of the phone and of the computer?
What IP number are you trying to ping, and whence?
The current IP for all computers connected to my phone is: 70.194.2.149

Using that IP I cannot host any games. Though for some reason I can on PS4, so I have no idea what's going on there.
 
jpradley
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 267
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by squat251 View Post
The current IP for all computers connected to my phone is: 70.194.2.149

Using that IP I cannot host any games. Though for some reason I can on PS4, so I have no idea what's going on there.
Every ethernet port, wired or not, has an IP address. Two devices cannot have the same IP address, each address on a network has to be unique. 70.194.2.149 is the (public WAN) address of a single device, probably that of the incoming port of your router. Your computers each have their own IP numbers (typically in the 192.168.x.y numbering scheme). Your router also has an address in that same number range, for use on its inside (private LAN) ethernet connections.

I don't want to write a dissertation on NAT (network address translation), but that is what the router performs so that your browsers or your Telo "appear" to be coming from 70.194.2.149. Net result,as far as your computers are concerned: they can call out, intitiate a connection to wherever, but nothing can initiate any contact to them from the outside world (short of doing some "port forwarding" in the router). Look up NAT iand port forwarding in a search engine.

BTW, what is "PS4"?
 
squat251
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpradley View Post
Every ethernet port, wired or not, has an IP address. Two devices cannot have the same IP address, each address on a network has to be unique. 70.194.2.149 is the (public WAN) address of a single device, probably that of the incoming port of your router. Your computers each have their own IP numbers (typically in the 192.168.x.y numbering scheme). Your router also has an address in that same number range, for use on its inside (private LAN) ethernet connections.

I don't want to write a dissertation on NAT (network address translation), but that is what the router performs so that your browsers or your Telo "appear" to be coming from 70.194.2.149. Net result,as far as your computers are concerned: they can call out, intitiate a connection to wherever, but nothing can initiate any contact to them from the outside world (short of doing some "port forwarding" in the router). Look up NAT iand port forwarding in a search engine.

BTW, what is "PS4"?
Playstation 4. All of my PC's connect to the internet through my phone. There is no router, there is no ethernet. They all share the same IP because that is the IP of my phone (my best guess.) That is why all the targeted ads are from the same town. I don't know where in my first post, or any there after you gathered that I am having issues with a router.
 
jpradley
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 267
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by squat251 View Post
Playstation 4. All of my PC's connect to the internet through my phone. There is no router, there is no ethernet. They all share the same IP because that is the IP of my phone (my best guess.) That is why all the targeted ads are from the same town. I don't know where in my first post, or any there after you gathered that I am having issues with a router.
Ah, OK. Then it is your phone which is acting as a router and is doing the NAT procedures. I don't know how to make a phone forward specific IP ports to specific IP addresses.
 
cmlusco
Old
#8  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 915
Posts: 3,138
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Michigan City, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
You need a port forwarding app to allow incoming traffic to reach the right device on the network.

Forward what ever port(s) your game uses from the public wan ip to the game consoles ip provided by the phone.

So lets say forward port 1234 (or all ports) to 192.168.1.10, or what ever the game consoles ip is.
Sent From My HTC One (M7WLV) S-OFF Rooted
Hboot: 1.56.0000 (Unlocked)
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.4
Baseband: 1.13.41.0109_2
Kernel: ElementalX 13.5
PRL: 15287
Rom: Stock OTA 3.11.605.1

VZW HTC One Files - VZW1FILES.DYNDNS.ORG

HTC Incredible Files - DINC.DOES-IT.NET
 
squat251
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlusco View Post
You need a port forwarding app to allow incoming traffic to reach the right device on the network.

Forward what ever port(s) your game uses from the public wan ip to the game consoles ip provided by the phone.

So lets say forward port 1234 (or all ports) to 192.168.1.10, or what ever the game consoles ip is.
That would work, only all the port forwarding apps require that you be able to ping your public IP. I cannot, all packets are lost no matter what method I use. I would call and ask Verizon, but I have unlimited data, and there is no way I will let them weasel that out of me.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more

Easily Combine Text and Manage Your Android Clipboard with StuffMerge

Android clipboard management has always been impractical without the … more