Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Error: Cannot open recovery

OP Dwight Caffery

10th May 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Ok, here's some background on my device:
I s-off'ed using firewater method, it worked fine
I flashed CWM through Fastboot, and then flashed a supersu zip through CWM.
After this, I made a nandroid and flashed to a GPE rom to try it out, decided i wanted to give sense 6 a longer chance, so I restored my Nandroid.
Then the OTA update came along, and annoyed me to install it for awhile. So I decided to try to, so I flashed the stock recovery from this thread. It did not flash.. After changing the usb cable and usb port, and a few days.. it worked.. maybe
When I boot into recovery, i get the little picture of the phone with the red triangle and exclamation point (that I think is stock recovery)
but when I try to install the OTA, it looks like it's working, except about a third of the way through (according to the green bar on the bottom) it goes straight to the red triangle and exclamation point. After about 5 minutes (not sure exactly) it reboots and nothing is changed. A bit later, it'll bug me again to update.

Now, I tried to flash both CWM and TWRP, and both result in "Error: Cannot open recovery '[recoveryname.img]'"
I have tried it with both CWM and TWRP, on two different machines, both running OSX Mavericks... Same results for all of them.

Earlier today, I factory reset, yet it still doesn't work. Anybody have any advice?
10th May 2014, 08:34 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Alright, well I have no idea why this worked, but I tried flashing TWRP through the ROM manager app, and that worked. I feel rather stupid for not trying this earlier..

anyway, I'm good now
10th May 2014, 12:01 PM   |  #3  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,414
 
9,659 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwight Caffery

Alright, well I have no idea why this worked, but I tried flashing TWRP through the ROM manager app, and that worked. I feel rather stupid for not trying this earlier..

anyway, I'm good now

Glad all is well.
I would get in the habit with S-OFF to never take an OTA..even when confirmed ok for rooters.
eventually someone WILL pull the OTA, and the firmware will be flashable for those on S-OFF like this most recent OTA.
Simply fastboot the said OTA firmware and save yourself a bunch of hassel.
Happy flashing
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes