Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,680 Members 45,282 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Device stuck on HBOOT after installing KitKang ROM

Tip us?
 
eddiehk6
Old
#11  
eddiehk6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 568
Posts: 1,334
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chromium View Post
Hah, thanks This will make you laugh. You and @eddiehk6 were the first people to help me when I was a complete n00b, lol.
Woah can't believe that's you. You've come a long way since then

Quote:
Originally Posted by markar07 View Post
No, i put it on the root or my sd card, i know what the root directory is. It is simply not responding to anything. -_-
Strange it should detect it even if it won't properly flash. Double check:

It's named:
- "PB99IMG.zip" exactly, think it even requires all upper case.
- not "PB99IMG.zip.zip".
I don't mean to sound insulting with the second one, but I've seen it done
Device: Nexus 5 | ROM: SlimKat | Recovery: PhilZ Touch
Retired: HTC Desire
_____________________________________________
let's all try to get along ...but remember to search first...
The Following User Says Thank You to eddiehk6 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
markar07
Old
#12  
markar07's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Hey, thanks for your reply. Unfortunately the phone doesn't detect the file, I am 100% sure. What ill do is get another sd card, maybe my one is corrupted somehow.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
markar07
Old
#13  
markar07's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddiehk6 View Post
Woah can't believe that's you. You've come a long way since then



Strange it should detect it even if it won't properly flash. Double check:

It's named:
- "PB99IMG.zip" exactly, think it even requires all upper case.
- not "PB99IMG.zip.zip".
I don't mean to sound insulting with the second one, but I've seen it done
Okay, I have gone a bit further than last time, I have somewhat better results, changed the SD card and the image loaded.

Now I am stuck on this (Please see the attached image)

The phone does not go any further and I cannot navigate through this list if I am even supposed to be able to do that.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140419_102350.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	236.6 KB
ID:	2695682  
The Following User Says Thank You to markar07 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
eddiehk6
Old
#14  
eddiehk6's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 568
Posts: 1,334
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by markar07 View Post
Okay, I have gone a bit further than last time, I have somewhat better results, changed the SD card and the image loaded.

Now I am stuck on this (Please see the attached image)

The phone does not go any further and I cannot navigate through this list if I am even supposed to be able to do that.
Can't figure this out to be honest.

When you boot into bootloader with the PB99IMG.zip image, it should do a scan, then find it.

Then it should give you the option 'do you want to flash it?' or something like that, press power to select I think. Was so long ago since I had to do this myself. Does it resemble anything like this?
Device: Nexus 5 | ROM: SlimKat | Recovery: PhilZ Touch
Retired: HTC Desire
_____________________________________________
let's all try to get along ...but remember to search first...
 
lilsafbig
Old
#15  
lilsafbig's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 41
Posts: 565
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bradford
Make sure u put the zip in the root of sd.

Sent from my HTC Desire using xda app-developers app
 
markar07
Old
#16  
markar07's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
@lilsafbig - dude, it has already found the file and loaded it.
@eddiehk6 - nah man, it's giving me options like on the other image after loading the file, which it never did before i tried the new sd card. Its strange, none of the physicall buttons work in this stupid HBOOT.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
jmcclue
Old
#17  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1318
Posts: 3,404
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by markar07 View Post
@lilsafbig - dude, it has already found the file and loaded it.
@eddiehk6 - nah man, it's giving me options like on the other image after loading the file, which it never did before i tried the new sd card. Its strange, none of the physicall buttons work in this stupid HBOOT.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Did u check the MD5sum of the file? Cant really think of why it reads it then not let u choose to flash it.
 
markar07
Old
#18  
markar07's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Yes I did. Everything is fine with the file. I dont get it either ... I started suspecting the buttons being broken ... but it doesnt explain why the phone turns on yet cant use the power button to select any options. The volume buttons do not function at all. I get into HBOOT just by pressing the ON button and then it turns on.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
 
desdesu
Old
#19  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Dec 2012
I had the same problem and what i did was first flashed in fastboot mode the "alpha jelly", try to search on that because thats the requirement on flashing kitkang and i flashed another recovery using fastboot mode. What i flashed is the latest CWM and them go recovery then flashed the 4.4.2 rom. and it worked for me. it should for you too.
 
jmcclue
Old
#20  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1318
Posts: 3,404
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by desdesu View Post
I had the same problem and what i did was first flashed in fastboot mode the "alpha jelly", try to search on that because thats the requirement on flashing kitkang and i flashed another recovery using fastboot mode. What i flashed is the latest CWM and them go recovery then flashed the 4.4.2 rom. and it worked for me. it should for you too.
Did u even bother to read any posts?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes