Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,614 Members 44,432 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Issues when rooting Galaxy S5

Tip us?
 
Havok_2k
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default Issues when rooting Galaxy S5

Hi All

We know that rooting the S5 trips your Knox counter to (0x1) meaning that some features will be broken. I rooted my SM-G900F with the ChainFire Root and Knox shows (0x1).
1. I am still able to use Private Mode, though some users have said it doesn't work for them once rooted.
2. I am now unable to check for Software Updates on my device. Screenshot attached showing error.

Anyone else have known issues or would like to add to the list?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-15-05-43-28.png
Views:	230
Size:	186.9 KB
ID:	2687553  
 
Assimilator69
Old
#2  
Assimilator69's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 46
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havok_2k View Post
Hi All

We know that rooting the S5 trips your Knox counter to (0x1) meaning that some features will be broken. I rooted my SM-G900F with the ChainFire Root and Knox shows (0x1).
1. I am still able to use Private Mode, though some users have said it doesn't work for them once rooted.
2. I am now unable to check for Software Updates on my device. Screenshot attached showing error.

Anyone else have known issues or would like to add to the list?
I hope someone helps you out with this, that is a nasty side affect of rooting
 
declan8888
Old
#3  
declan8888's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 526
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Edinburgh
You can't OTA update your phone when rooted, you must update your ROM through recovery.

Sent from my SM-G900F using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to declan8888 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
domainX
Old
#4  
domainX's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2013
i don't think it has anything to do with knox alone. my s3(unit without knox) wouldn't update OTA or through Kies when it's rooted. Only way to update it was through ODIN.
 
koragg97
Old
#5  
koragg97's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 131
Posts: 604
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sofia
Quote:
Originally Posted by domainX View Post
i don't think it has anything to do with knox alone. my s3(unit without knox) wouldn't update OTA or through Kies when it's rooted. Only way to update it was through ODIN.
+1
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes