Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Issues when rooting Galaxy S5

OP Havok_2k

15th April 2014, 11:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi All

We know that rooting the S5 trips your Knox counter to (0x1) meaning that some features will be broken. I rooted my SM-G900F with the ChainFire Root and Knox shows (0x1).
1. I am still able to use Private Mode, though some users have said it doesn't work for them once rooted.
2. I am now unable to check for Software Updates on my device. Screenshot attached showing error.

Anyone else have known issues or would like to add to the list?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-04-15-05-43-28.png
Views:	236
Size:	186.9 KB
ID:	2687553  
16th April 2014, 12:33 AM   |  #2  
Assimilator69's Avatar
Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 5
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havok_2k

Hi All

We know that rooting the S5 trips your Knox counter to (0x1) meaning that some features will be broken. I rooted my SM-G900F with the ChainFire Root and Knox shows (0x1).
1. I am still able to use Private Mode, though some users have said it doesn't work for them once rooted.
2. I am now unable to check for Software Updates on my device. Screenshot attached showing error.

Anyone else have known issues or would like to add to the list?

I hope someone helps you out with this, that is a nasty side affect of rooting
16th April 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #3  
declan8888's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Edinburgh
Thanks Meter: 76
 
568 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
You can't OTA update your phone when rooted, you must update your ROM through recovery.

Sent from my SM-G900F using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to declan8888 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 07:06 PM   |  #4  
domainX's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
i don't think it has anything to do with knox alone. my s3(unit without knox) wouldn't update OTA or through Kies when it's rooted. Only way to update it was through ODIN.
10th May 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #5  
koragg97's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 160
 
729 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by domainX

i don't think it has anything to do with knox alone. my s3(unit without knox) wouldn't update OTA or through Kies when it's rooted. Only way to update it was through ODIN.

+1
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes