Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,637 Members 39,390 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC ONE - S-OFF but Old Software (4.2.2). Can I flash 4.4.2 Straight away?

Tip us?
 
5fifty5
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default [Q] HTC ONE - S-OFF but Old Software (4.2.2). Can I flash 4.4.2 Straight away?

Apologies if I am breaking any rules but I thought it was best and quicker to get an answer with a new thread.

After 6 years of staying away from HTC and Flashing I am back at it again but I need some help for now please. Listed below is the phone information:


Quote:
***TAMPERED***
***UNLOCKED***

M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-1111111
HBOOT-1.54.0000
RADIO-4A.17.3250.14
OS-2.24.401.0

HBOOT
I would like to upgrade to latest KitKat Android Revolution HD ROM V53.0.

Can someone tell me if it is possible by simply downloading the file and flashing it since I already have S-OFF? Or do I have to go back to stock, upgrade to latest version of stock Rom and then do the whole procedure of how to flash a custom ROM? I am sure it can't be the latter but since it has been a while with flashing and everything, I would like to be certain.
 
5fifty5
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2009
If someone can list the steps I need to do (if any) to upgrade easily, that would me much appreciated. I've spent the whole weekend trying to figure it out but .....

Also, Will I have to upgrade the firmware?
 
RareAir23
Old
#3  
RareAir23's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
You can absolutely flash ARHD and will get good results, flashing the most up to date firmware will ensure the best results.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Sent from my HTC One
The Following User Says Thank You to RareAir23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
5fifty5
Old
(Last edited by 5fifty5; 11th May 2014 at 09:48 AM.)
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RareAir23 View Post
You can absolutely flash ARHD and will get good results, flashing the most up to date firmware will ensure the best results.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Right then. I flashed the ROM and it was successful. However, it's going into teamwin (recovery?) all the time. restarted a number of time but it always goes into recovery.

None of the info I posted ealrier has changed either, EXCEPT OS which is onw 2.24.401.8 !

I forgot to mention earlier that it had some chinese Rom flshed on it. Have I done something wrong?

I haven't flashed the new firmware yet btw! Could someone also suggest the correct version for ARHD V53 ?

Cheers
 
RareAir23
Old
#5  
RareAir23's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Which version of TWRP? Need 2.6.3.3 per the ARHD OP

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Sent from my HTC One
 
5fifty5
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RareAir23 View Post
Which version of TWRP? Need 2.6.3.3 per the ARHD OP

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
How can I upgrade that please? I am on 2.6.3.0

Will 2.7 work?
 
RareAir23
Old
#7  
RareAir23's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
Sounds like you need to do a bit more reading before you get yourself into a jam. Download the. Img for 2.6.3.3 and use flashify from the market

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Sent from my HTC One
 
5fifty5
Old
(Last edited by 5fifty5; 11th May 2014 at 12:46 PM.)
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RareAir23 View Post
Sounds like you need to do a bit more reading before you get yourself into a jam. Download the. Img for 2.6.3.3 and use flashify from the market

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Sorry. Just read it here

This says that I need to use 2.7.0.2. A bit confused but inclined towards newer version as mentioned in latter.

Will I have to reinstall using newer version of TWRP?

Do I have to upgrade the firmware though? I mean I could do it later. Right now I just want to fire it up
 
RareAir23
Old
#9  
RareAir23's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
You need to install whatever version of twrp you want then reflash the rom. Best of luck

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Sent from my HTC One

The Following User Says Thank You to RareAir23 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Navigate to Your Favorite Places with LocationDetector

If you’re enjoying an active way of life, you probablytravel a lot, go fishing, … more

LifeStats Automatic Journal Keeps Tabs of Your Day

Most of us live very active lives. This is after all why we’re fans of mobile … more

Android App Review: Hide Your Files with Androignito – XDA Developer TV

Stop right now, look at your phone, and see how many pictures, … more

BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more