Automate Your Device With Droid Automation

Applications like Tasker can become very helpful when you are trying to automate your device based … more

Dark-R Color Theme For CM12

This theme by XDA Forum MemberLeo_elstinbrings bright colors, sweet looking font and a dark material UI that … more

HTC M8 Gallery for LG G3

If you do not dig LG’s skeumorphic and colorful UI, you might want to replace your gallery with HTC’s … more

Twitter Receives a Massive Update

Twitter rolls out a new update that brings two exciting features:group messaging and a new mobile video … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Proximity sensor

OP roxicodine

8th May 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #1  
roxicodine's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag North Las Vegas
Thanks Meter: 23
 
314 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
So I have the survivor case by griffin technology and it seems to block the sensor. Every time I need to make a call or answer a call I have to take the top portion off to answer or hang up the call. Is there an app to disable the sensron

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
8th May 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #2  
mrzhadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marysville WA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
819 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxicodine

So I have the survivor case by griffin technology and it seems to block the sensor. Every time I need to make a call or answer a call I have to take the top portion off to answer or hang up the call. Is there an app to disable the sensron

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Open your dialer and push menu and go to call settings. Disable turn off screen during calls. It will keep the screen on so you can make our hang up calls manually.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to mrzhadow For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th May 2014, 08:35 PM   |  #3  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 715
 
2,854 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roxicodine

So I have the survivor case by griffin technology and it seems to block the sensor. Every time I need to make a call or answer a call I have to take the top portion off to answer or hang up the call. Is there an app to disable the sensron

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk

Try darkening the area around the opening to the proximity sensor.

## Found this in android forums ##

Alister, what is the color(s) of your Otterbox? Mine is the grey/white, and I solved my prob, just like yours, by darkening the area just above the proximity sensor with a fine-tipped black Magic Marker pen. Additionally, you can get an app that tests all of your S4's sensors, including the proximity. Mine is called Z-Device test, and works great. Get back..

Pp.

sent from my bluetooth controlled toaster that also takes pictures.
9th May 2014, 09:01 PM   |  #4  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 4,078
 
5,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrzhadow

Open your dialer and push menu and go to call settings. Disable turn off screen during calls. It will keep the screen on so you can make our hang up calls manually.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app

For reference to anyone else finding this thread, this will only work on TouchWiz roms. AOSP rom's typicaly don't have the option to disable the proximity sensor.
11th May 2014, 07:58 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
30 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrzhadow

Open your dialer and push menu and go to call settings. Disable turn off screen during calls. It will keep the screen on so you can make our hang up calls manually.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using xda app-developers app

I don't have that option in the settings of CM11. In my case I can't get the screen to come BACK ON during a call when I pull it from my face. So much for using the dialpad during an automated menu call..
11th May 2014, 08:39 AM   |  #6  
mrzhadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Marysville WA
Thanks Meter: 469
 
819 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JessSayin

I don't have that option in the settings of CM11. In my case I can't get the screen to come BACK ON during a call when I pull it from my face. So much for using the dialpad during an automated menu call..

My apologies! I didn't realize you were using CM. Its been a long time since I used it so I'm no longer familiar with it.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using XDA Free mobile app
11th May 2014, 02:17 PM   |  #7  
Skipjacks's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Baltimore
Thanks Meter: 4,078
 
5,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
You can cut out or drill the case where it overhangs the sensor.

Sent from your phone. You should be more careful where you leave that thing.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes