Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,692 Members 40,960 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Play Store Question

Tip us?
 
Celtish
Old
(Last edited by Celtish; 11th May 2014 at 05:26 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Play Store Question

Good evening All,

I have the Pro 8.4 and I must say that I'm loving it so far. That said, I have also used CyanogenMod before and would love to put it on this tab. I do have a concern however. Whereas I have never had to buy productivity apps before, I have for this tab as I'll be using it for business as well as pleasure. I have heard around the interwebs of the Play store acting wonky. Any truth to this?

I'd hate to have to give up on having Cyanogen on this tab because I can't use apps that I need and paid for. Any advise would be appreciated.

By the way, I have rooted and put CM on other devices before. This is just the first time I have ever needed to put any type of GApp on it afterwards.

* I should say: putting the Play store on a custom rom....
 
crpalmer
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1983
Posts: 1,511
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celtish View Post
Good evening All,

I have the Pro 8.4 and I must say that I'm loving it so far. That said, I have also used CyanogenMod before and would love to put it on this tab. I do have a concern however. Whereas I have never had to buy productivity apps before, I have for this tab as I'll be using it for business as well as pleasure. I have heard around the interwebs of the Play store acting wonky. Any truth to this?

I'd hate to have to give up on having Cyanogen on this tab because I can't use apps that I need and paid for. Any advise would be appreciated.

By the way, I have rooted and put CM on other devices before. This is just the first time I have ever needed to put any type of GApp on it afterwards.

* I should say: putting the Play store on a custom rom....
You have had to install GApps for CM on all devices for a long time (since CM7 maybe?) . GApps are the Google proprietary code that you are only allowed to redistribute if you have a contractual agreement with Google and pass CTS. Only the 1+1 CM11s fits into that category, all other CM builds do not and therefore they do not distribute the proprietary code as they are not legally entitled to.

I have no problems with the Play Store.
 
Celtish
Old
(Last edited by Celtish; 11th May 2014 at 02:17 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 12
Join Date: Oct 2012
You
Thanks for the response Crpalmer. I had known that you would have to put it on seperately. I should have been more clear prior. I had never put them back on as I didn't need the functionality. I now need it however and just wanted to make are that my purchases would carry over. Afain, thanks for the response.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes