Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,906 Members 42,999 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Connected to WiFi but no internet GS3

Tip us?
 
logoster
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Default [Q] Connected to WiFi but no internet GS3

Hello, recently my phone decided it no longer wanted to connect to wifi, i did eventually fix that (restarted my router/modem) however, now i have no internet, i can access the local network fine (i've tested this by running xamp on my pc, and accessing it from my phone) but the actualy internet won't work, so i can't access google or any other website, and i just can't figure out why

now, i'm not tech illiterate at all but i just can't figure it out.

any help will be apericiated

Stock GS3 AT&T Edition (Rooted via SafeRoot method) running the latest Samsung update

Router/Modem: ARRIS TG862 (Xfinity)
 
robforself
Old
#2  
robforself's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 37
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PHILTHadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by logoster View Post
Hello, recently my phone decided it no longer wanted to connect to wifi, i did eventually fix that (restarted my router/modem) however, now i have no internet, i can access the local network fine (i've tested this by running xamp on my pc, and accessing it from my phone) but the actualy internet won't work, so i can't access google or any other website, and i just can't figure out why

now, i'm not tech illiterate at all but i just can't figure it out.

any help will be apericiated

Stock GS3 AT&T Edition (Rooted via SafeRoot method) running the latest Samsung update

Router/Modem: ARRIS TG862 (Xfinity)
Go into networks, access points... Aka APN, and change the settings. E correct settings should be in q and a or general forum... Based on what you saying.. Its my guess. Could be wrong tho.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using XDA Free mobile app
 
logoster
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
what would my Mobile Data settings have anything to do with wifi problems?
 
robforself
Old
#4  
robforself's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 37
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: PHILTHadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by logoster View Post
what would my Mobile Data settings have anything to do with wifi problems?
I had a problem with my internet on my phone after a flash, WiFi worked good. Calls and texts good. But phone internet was jacked. I had to reset my APN.. Sounded kinda similar....sorry for giving you another option. If yo tried it and didn't work , just say so.

Sent from my SGH-T999 using XDA Free mobile app
 
logoster
Old
(Last edited by logoster; 11th May 2014 at 08:16 PM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
My mobile data isn't the problem though, its my wifi, i cant access my home internet, I can access the local area network fine, but no internet, my mobile data works fine though (am sending this message via mobile data right now in fact)

Edit: fixed it, my modem/routers settings were really strange and messed up

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using XDA Free mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes