Post Reply

[Q] Gear Fit and Cycling

OP zack89

10th May 2014, 10:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Dear Community,

i recently tried the Gear Fit in a Samsung Experience Store. As i chose "Cycling" the Gear Fit told me to connect it with my phone, so it could use the GPS module for training statistics. It is only possible to use the Cycline option in connection with a smartphone? Or does it nevertheless measure my BPM and time without the use of the phones GPS module? It would be very weird to carry my phone all the time when i go cylcing...

Thanks, zack
11th May 2014, 12:17 AM   |  #2  
TheFletch's Avatar
Member
Flag Souther California
Thanks Meter: 25
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zack89

Dear Community,

i recently tried the Gear Fit in a Samsung Experience Store. As i chose "Cycling" the Gear Fit told me to connect it with my phone, so it could use the GPS module for training statistics. It is only possible to use the Cycline option in connection with a smartphone? Or does it nevertheless measure my BPM and time without the use of the phones GPS module? It would be very weird to carry my phone all the time when i go cylcing...

Thanks, zack

Unfortunately all the excersize functions require GPS, thusly a phone to function. Even if you have a phone connected and the GPS off it halts saying you aren't moving. At this point that is the limitation. Hopefully that will change so the fit can be used for stationary bikes, etc.

From my Galaxy Note 2
11th May 2014, 12:38 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFletch

Unfortunately all the excersize functions require GPS, thusly a phone to function. Even if you have a phone connected and the GPS off it halts saying you aren't moving. At this point that is the limitation. Hopefully that will change so the fit can be used for stationary bikes, etc.

From my Galaxy Note 2


so i cant just run with the gear fit, without having my mobile with me?? does the gear fit then not measures my taken steps and by bpm?
11th May 2014, 12:53 AM   |  #4  
TheFletch's Avatar
Member
Flag Souther California
Thanks Meter: 25
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zack89

so i cant just run with the gear fit, without having my mobile with me?? does the gear fit then not measures my taken steps and by bpm?

Others please correct me if I've missed something. The steps can be measured all the time, but continuous bpm is only measured in excersize mode which needs GPS. It's a horrible answer but I believe a correct one.

From my Galaxy Note 2
11th May 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Using running/hiking mode does not require connection to phone

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
11th May 2014, 09:21 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
49 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Hiking actually requires GPS. Hiking and biking I guess itīs because of ascent/descent measuring ?
11th May 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #7  
TheFletch's Avatar
Member
Flag Souther California
Thanks Meter: 25
 
88 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukeenho

Hiking actually requires GPS. Hiking and biking I guess itīs because of ascent/descent measuring ?

Oh, great. Good to know. I'll do some more thorough testing.

From my Galaxy Note 2
11th May 2014, 08:12 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Ružomberok
Thanks Meter: 235
 
1,047 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Donate to Me
More
For Run and Walk you don't need phone.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes