Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[KERNEL][3.0.101][GT-S7562|S7560/S7560m] KyleOC2 Kernel r2

OP KlinkOnE

11th May 2014, 09:31 PM   |  #1  
KlinkOnE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halle
Thanks Meter: 165
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
KyleOC2 Kernel Release 2

This is a Kernel for the Samsung GT-S756X devices aka S DUOS / Ace II x / Trend
for Stock or Stock-based Custom ROMs no CM support.
  • Kernel version 3.0.101
  • ZRAM using LZ4 fast compression/decompression algorithm
  • Frandom module // initialized on boot
  • CPU OC 1305MHz or 1228MHz or 1113MHz
  • lowest frequency 61MHz
  • GPU OC 300MHz
  • build with Sabermod-Toolchain 4.7
Changes to r1
  • O3 + additional architecture specific optimization flags applied // gain performance
  • Lowmemorykiller updated to 3.4 Kernel version
  • dynamic file-sync
  • Deadline scheduler enabled (thanks Codename13)
  • fixed some compile warnings
  • different approaches to improve performance (commit history)

Kernel Source on Github:
https://github.com/KlinkOnE/kyleopen-kernel.git

Downloads:
KyleOC2-r2
KyleOC2-r1
cortex-a5 optimized toolchain

Instructions:
  • (optional) backup your modules before flashing!!! How to thanks to coolamit.
  • flash through recovery
  • (optional) fix permissions (CWM)

Issues:
  • using CrossBreeder with KyleOC2 will break entropy generation and may force errors
  • you tell me

Thanks to:
  • Cheatman
  • Codename13
  • Sadman2
  • psndna88
  • Mohitash

Feel free to post suggestions for new features here. I will try to look at it and implement if my time allows. If you are experiencing bugs please report them in a qualified way. I am no developer I just learned how to use Github and like to read a lot.

...enjoy
Last edited by KlinkOnE; 19th August 2014 at 09:23 PM. Reason: fix GPU-freq
The Following 28 Users Say Thank You to KlinkOnE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2014, 09:34 PM   |  #2  
KlinkOnE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halle
Thanks Meter: 165
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Changelog

r1
  • based on the kyleopen-kernel source by Cheatman (includes all previous features)
  • Kernel version upgraded to 3.0.101
  • ZRAM using LZ4 fast compression/decompression algorithm
  • Frandom module added // initialized on boot
  • CPU OC 1305MHz or 1228MHz or 1113MHz
  • lowest frequency 61MHz
  • GPU OC 300MHz
  • SmartassV2 values tuned
  • various small changes
  • compiled with Sabermod-Toolchain 4.7.4
  • works on GT-S7560(m)
+++ r1-PRIME only
  • CPU OC 1344MHz
  • GPU OC 333MHz
  • adaptive voltage scaling enabled (may or may not work) // more stability
Last edited by KlinkOnE; 31st May 2014 at 11:33 PM. Reason: r2-update
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to KlinkOnE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2014, 11:45 PM   |  #3  
Gungamathic's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
Thumbs up Awesome!
I have no problems so far. Actually amazed how smooth the device runs on the SmartassV2 governor, kinda choppy on the 'ondemand' though. And I didn't have to change the modules. Great work! Hope there is more to come . Maybe you could also compile another version that is OC'd at 1228 MHz or something, not for me but maybe for others. Mine can't handle anything more than 1.113 GHz.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Gungamathic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2014, 01:39 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,050
 
874 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Is it compiled with Sabermod 4.7? Other than that, it looks really great, even better than BA2X 2.0. The only thing I could ask for more in an S Duos/Ace II X/Trend kernel is undervolt. We'll have to try that out sometime.
The Following User Says Thank You to Codename13 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 83
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Can somebody please post guide to back-up and install modules as I'm not sure how to do it

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Free mobile app
12th May 2014, 07:28 AM   |  #6  
coolamit's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 438
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pravin.narote

Can somebody please post guide to back-up and install modules as I'm not sure how to do it

Sent from my GT-S7562 using XDA Free mobile app

Backup/Restore modules for S Duos S7562
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to coolamit For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2014, 08:42 AM   |  #7  
KlinkOnE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halle
Thanks Meter: 165
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Codename13

Is it compiled with Sabermod 4.7? Other than that, it looks really great, even better than BA2X 2.0. The only thing I could ask for more in an S Duos/Ace II X/Trend kernel is undervolt. We'll have to try that out sometime.

You are right it is compiled with sabermod 4.7.4 from your github. Is there any better?

Gesendet von meinem GT-S7562
12th May 2014, 08:43 AM   |  #8  
holymoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ragusa
Thanks Meter: 41
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by KlinkOnE

KyleOC2 Kernel Release 1

This is a Kernel for the GT-S7562 also known as Galaxy S DUOS.

  • based on the kyleopen-kernel source by Cheatman
  • Kernel version upgraded to 3.0.101
  • ZRAM using LZ4 fast compression/decompression algorithm
  • Frandom module added // initialized on boot // fix needed if using Crossbreeder http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9#post52123039 BA2X_2.0 also
  • CPU OC 1305MHz or 1113MHz // lowest frequency 61MHz
  • GPU OC 300MHz
  • SmartassV2 values tuned
  • various small changes
  • should work on GT-S7560m ACE2X too (not tested)

Kernel Source on Github:
https://github.com/KlinkOnE/kyleopen-kernel.git

Download:
1305MHz OC http://d-h.st/WNc
1113MHz OC http://d-h.st/sbp

Instructions:
  • backup your modules before flashing!!!
  • flash through recovery

Thanks to:
  • Cheatman
  • Codename13
  • Sadman2
  • psndna88
  • Mohitash

Feel free to post suggestions for new features here. I will try to look at it and implement if my time allows. If you are experiencing bugs please report them in a qualified way. I am no developer I just learned how to use Github and like to read a lot.

...enjoy

GREAT! can you please compile a 1152 mhz version and if possible WITHOUT the zram? I want the 128 mb of zram will be added to the total ram, thanks
12th May 2014, 09:07 AM   |  #9  
25vikasp's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 157
 
433 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Finally some one updated kernel developer for our s duos.thanks
.is zram beneficial.......release a kernel without that if possible thanks.anyways I will try this today
Sent from my GT-S7562 modded ics 1.2 ghz using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to 25vikasp For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2014, 10:58 AM   |  #10  
KlinkOnE's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Halle
Thanks Meter: 165
 
298 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
ZRAM?
Thanks for the suggestions regarding the use of ZRAM.

First of all this is not a new feature in the kernel as the stock kernel makes use of it too. Whats new is that the drivers are updated and the LZ4 algorithm is used for compression/decompression instead of LZO.

Why do we need ZRAM?

Simply we do not have that much RAM and swapping to disk is slow.
When the device is going out of RAM the ZRAM expands the amount of available RAM by compressing unused data in the RAM itself. This benefits in avoiding slow I/O processes caused by swapping to disk. LZ4 is a very fast compression algorithm with up to 3 times faster decompression than LZO. Of course this doesnt come out of nowhere and some cpu cycles must be used for compression and decompression. But after all i would say it is worth the price for a bit of snappier performance.

How much RAM does the ZRAM use?

Only the amount of compressed data is used from available RAM. So when there is no data compressed in ZRAM the device can make use of the full inbuilt RAM.

Does deactivating ZRAM increase RAM?

No


...I'll stick with it for now. Time will proof.
If you really want to deactivate maybe ask @holymoz he can guide you.
Last edited by KlinkOnE; 14th May 2014 at 01:59 PM. Reason: typo

The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to KlinkOnE For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
s7562
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes