Lollipop for OnePlus One Enters Testing Stage

Cyanogen just announced on their twitter that their CyanogenMod Lollipop build for the OnePlus … more

Xiaomi Business Model Unlike Usually Conceived

This article explains how Xiaomi sells phones not just to be a mobile OEM, but also to seed … more

Note 4 Launcher Theme Collection

If you like the features and integration of the TouchWiz Launcher on your Note 4, FrenchFamousTeam put … more

Verizon Allows Customers to Opt Out of Supercookies

Following the controversy that Verizon’s zombie “supercookies” … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

USA GSM

OP DREWHAMM974

9th April 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #1  
DREWHAMM974's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 582
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
I flashed Omni today and just because I was bored downloaded Telinfo and popped my straight talk sim in. Booted up, switched to Lte/gsm auto, added the APN and BAM it worked. Nothing else, no build prop mod, nothing. No LTE though just H+ but it worked great. Anyone know why it worked as soon as I installed? Clean install BTW.
9th April 2014, 07:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
282 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I've seen people say this also works with the CM11 nightlies and PA for our LS980. It's very annoying how we have to get through such hurdles to get gsm working on stock roms though because clearly we can use US GSM features on our ls980s but sprint and lgs software is making it painful.
9th April 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #3  
DREWHAMM974's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Athens, Alabama
Thanks Meter: 582
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by juanacevedo

I've seen people say this also works with the CM11 nightlies and PA for our LS980. It's very annoying how we have to get through such hurdles to get gsm working on stock roms though because clearly we can use US GSM features on our ls980s but sprint and lgs software is making it painful.

I'll be buying out of contract next month and in going to ask Sprint to unlock it for me after I do. I seriously doubt they will but don't understand why they wouldn't it you were no longer on contact for them.
12th April 2014, 03:20 AM   |  #4  
LordLugard's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag NYC
Thanks Meter: 294
 
1,741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DREWHAMM974

I'll be buying out of contract next month and in going to ask Sprint to unlock it for me after I do. I seriously doubt they will but don't understand why they wouldn't it you were no longer on contact for them.


But by default, Sprint's unlock is only to use on international GSM networks, they still lock out local GSM carriers. You might as well use the tricks/mods etc folks are currently using at the moment to unlock for USA GSM carriers.
29th April 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 232
 
1,433 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DREWHAMM974

I'll be buying out of contract next month and in going to ask Sprint to unlock it for me after I do. I seriously doubt they will but don't understand why they wouldn't it you were no longer on contact for them.

As long as device is on contract for at least 90 days they will unlock, I just applied for it, but its only unlocked for international use.

Sent from my LG-LS980 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
9th May 2014, 01:05 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
161 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
yeah use the guides here..im on Tmobile right now on my LS980.. gonna go back to Ting prob around winter
12th May 2014, 01:18 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by bykim5

yeah use the guides here..im on Tmobile right now on my LS980.. gonna go back to Ting prob around winter

Can you refer to the procedure you take to be on tmobile. I will be getting my ls980 soon and I would like to use it on tmobile. I have heard about CWM11 and Justin but just want to know which one worked for you. Thanks!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes