Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] S4 Wifi won't turn on after custom ROM

OP AgroWarrior

10th May 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
So I flashed the FoxHound ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2596654) found there today on my SCH-i545 Verizon Galaxy S4. I flashed it with SafeStrap, and everything works beautifully except for my WI-fi. It absolutely won't turn on no matter what I do. I heard something about a wpa config file, I tried renaming it and rebooting so a new one gets made. There's a Wi-Fi fixing option in the FoxHound settings, but all it does it download files that I have no clue what to do with. I'm very new to this stuff. How do I fix it?
10th May 2014, 11:01 PM   |  #2  
joshm.1219's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 1,495
 
3,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
You have to flash the safestrap modules that match your boot loader after you flash the ROM and before you boot. Wi-Fi won't work without them.

If you don't understand go back to the safestrap thread and read the entire OP.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
11th May 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by joshm.1219

You have to flash the safestrap modules that match your boot loader after you flash the ROM and before you boot. Wi-Fi won't work without them.

If you don't understand go back to the safestrap thread and read the entire OP.

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I am having the same problem with hyperdrive. Wifi wasnt working on the stock rom either. This is my first time trying custom roms. Could you please give me more info on how to flash the safestrap modules? Nothing was mentioned about it in the thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2301724

Thanks for the help!
11th May 2014, 09:19 AM   |  #4  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,110
 
3,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwalker77

I am having the same problem with hyperdrive. Wifi wasnt working on the stock rom either. This is my first time trying custom roms. Could you please give me more info on how to flash the safestrap modules? Nothing was mentioned about it in the thread.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2301724

Thanks for the help!

It explains this in the SafeStrap thread.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45517751

Like Josh said, you just flash the kernel modules after you flash the ROM before you leave recovery. Match up your modules to whatever your build is , MJ7, MK2 etc...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
11th May 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mistertac

It explains this in the SafeStrap thread.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=45517751

Like Josh said, you just flash the kernel modules after you flash the ROM before you leave recovery. Match up your modules to whatever your build is , MJ7, MK2 etc...

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Thanks! I cant tell you how much I appreciate your help. I will try it now

---------- Post added at 10:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:55 PM ----------

When flashing, it said no MD5 found. What does that mean, and what should I do?
11th May 2014, 11:41 PM   |  #6  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,110
 
3,995 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nwalker77

Thanks! I cant tell you how much I appreciate your help. I will try it now

---------- Post added at 10:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:55 PM ----------

When flashing, it said no MD5 found. What does that mean, and what should I do?

Recoveries can check the md5's of whatever files your flashing. It's just a way to see if the file is still in tact and what it's supposed to be... If your on SafeStrap I think there's an option in there to turn off md5 verification under advanced maybe. I check md5's prior to flashing either on my PC or an app on the phone. I don't bother while in recovery. That's just me though

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
11th May 2014, 11:43 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Wifi still isnt working after flashing MK2
12th May 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #8  
Pixelation's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jersey
Thanks Meter: 103
 
559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I've had no luck with Wi-Fi, or a stable Wi-Fi onany of gigilies ROM ports

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes