Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,223 Members 52,463 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Can't find ANY wifi networks anymore?

Tip us?
 
SpencerWeiss
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Can't find ANY wifi networks anymore?

Its been about 2 weeks now and I am still having this problem. One day while I was a school I felt my phone really hot in my pocket. and it was off. When I truened it back on the battery was only 20% and then I could not find any wifi networks. It used to work for about 30 seconds when I restarted the phone, but now it does not even do that. Any help?! This is pretty bad.
 
bilgerryan
Old
#2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24740
Posts: 14,434
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpencerWeiss View Post
Its been about 2 weeks now and I am still having this problem. One day while I was a school I felt my phone really hot in my pocket. and it was off. When I truened it back on the battery was only 20% and then I could not find any wifi networks. It used to work for about 30 seconds when I restarted the phone, but now it does not even do that. Any help?! This is pretty bad.
Are you rooted? Can you flash a ROM?

 
SpencerWeiss
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Are you rooted? Can you flash a ROM?

I am rooted, but I don't think that I can flash a custom rom because my phone is flashed to cricket and they said don't do system updates/factory resets.
 
bilgerryan
Old
#4  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24740
Posts: 14,434
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpencerWeiss View Post
I am rooted, but I don't think that I can flash a custom rom because my phone is flashed to cricket and they said don't do system updates/factory resets.
Try flashing your modem over again then

 
SpencerWeiss
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Try flashing your modem over again then

Sorry, but whats a modem and where can I download it?
 
bilgerryan
Old
#6  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24740
Posts: 14,434
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpencerWeiss View Post
Sorry, but whats a modem and where can I download it?
A modem is what controls your phones communication with the internet and voice and data... Pretty important. Go to Settings/About Phone and flash the one that matches the last four characters in your Baseband (like GB27 for example)-http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1764210

 
Surj138
Old
#7  
Surj138's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 109
Posts: 270
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpencerWeiss View Post
I am rooted, but I don't think that I can flash a custom rom because my phone is flashed to cricket and they said don't do system updates/factory resets.
Flashing a custom ROM or doing a factory reset won't mess with your cricket flash, although you will have to follow directions in this thread to get back working MMS and 3g (if you flash an AOSP or CM-based ROM... 3g should work out of the box on stock-based).

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1649508

Before you do anything, though, I would read read and READ some more. Not to sound rude, but you don't wanna dig yourself into a bigger hole just because you don't know what you're doing. And I'd be glad to help if you need it [emoji2]

Trolling from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
 
SpencerWeiss
Old
#8  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2013
Il just live with it til I get a new phone. My dad said I will get a new one at the end of the school year. Surj is right, I don't wanna make it worse while I try to fix it.

Sent from my SPH-D710BST using xda app-developers app
 
SpencerWeiss
Old
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Oct 2013
Update: I reflashed my modem gc01. The WiFi still does not work. I think its a hardware problem.


Sent from my SPH-D710BST using xda app-developers app

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more

[OTA Captured] Verizon LG G Pad 8.3 Finally Gets Official KitKat Update

It’s been almost nine months since the LG G Pad … more

Enjoy Wallpaper Overload with PhotoPhase

We don’t usually feature live wallpapers on the XDA Portal unless they are somewhat innovative … more

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more