Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,688 Members 41,743 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Gpe back to sense m8

Tip us?
 
KKRES
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Thumbs up Gpe back to sense m8

i bought a google edition htc m8, so i wanted to get it back to sense aswell as i prefer the usability of it + the phone was made to run on that software
this took me hour to work out and hours of research on xda and other websites, so here im trying to simplify everything into one post, so people can get back to sense
so first of course root your phone if u have a google edition, if you converted to GPE from sense you will already be rooted and you can start the process (with TWRP installed)

i did it successfully but it was a huge process as there are limited resources atm to help me do it, as to why i am posting this

1. first i downloaded HTC one m8 all in one toollink)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2699065
once you download this program you will be able to put the phone into bootloader, with this program you wont have to use comand prompt on windows to change the cid in bootloader.

2. you need to change the phones cid from goog to CID-11111111, of the m8 all in one toolkit it enters it in for you and writes it straight to your phone.

3. once you do this you need to download -
Flash 1.54 Image- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=3

NOW YOU NEED TO USE COMAND PROMPT- TEST PHONE WITH - FASTBOOT DEVICES- SHOULD GET A NUMBER CODE IF YOUR PHONE IS CONNECTED PROPERLY

1.FIRST ENTER fastboot oem rebootRUU

THEN- fastboot flash zip (whatever you name it).zip REDO IT TWICE 1ST WILL FAIL )- THEN SUCCESSFUL

-Boot back into Bootloader

-Boot into Recovery
-then in twrp (MUST)
-Wipe Data, Factory Reset, Advanced Wipe-Wipe System, Data, Cache
-Reboot Recovery
-Restore or Flash a Sense Rom

IF I HELPED PLEASE LEAVE A THANKS

(i have been pretty brief in my explanation, everything you need is there for the tricky parts, but if you have problems with toolkit or anything else look it up on xda) but this post will cut down the process time!
thanks. i am not resposible for any faults or problems with your phone but if you do it correctly all should be good
The Following User Says Thank You to KKRES For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
grentuu
Old
(Last edited by grentuu; 12th May 2014 at 12:31 PM.)
#2  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Just outside of Manchester UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKRES View Post
i bought a google edition htc m8, so i wanted to get it back to sense aswell as i prefer the usability of it + the phone was made to run on that software
this took me hour to work out and hours of research on xda and other websites, so here im trying to simplify everything into one post, so people can get back to sense
so first of course root your phone if u have a google edition, if you converted to GPE from sense you will already be rooted and you can start the process (with TWRP installed)

i did it successfully but it was a huge process as there are limited resources atm to help me do it, as to why i am posting this

1. first i downloaded HTC one m8 all in one toollink)
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2699065
once you download this program you will be able to put the phone into bootloader, with this program you wont have to use comand prompt on windows to change the cid in bootloader.

2. you need to change the phones cid from goog to CID-11111111, of the m8 all in one toolkit it enters it in for you and writes it straight to your phone.

3. once you do this you need to download -
Flash 1.54 Image- http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...68&postcount=3

NOW YOU NEED TO USE COMAND PROMPT- TEST PHONE WITH - FASTBOOT DEVICES- SHOULD GET A NUMBER CODE IF YOUR PHONE IS CONNECTED PROPERLY

1.FIRST ENTER fastboot oem rebootRUU

THEN- fastboot flash zip (whatever you name it).zip REDO IT TWICE 1ST WILL FAIL )- THEN SUCCESSFUL

-Boot back into Bootloader

-Boot into Recovery
-then in twrp (MUST)
-Wipe Data, Factory Reset, Advanced Wipe-Wipe System, Data, Cache
-Reboot Recovery
-Restore or Flash a Sense Rom

IF I HELPED PLEASE LEAVE A THANKS

(i have been pretty brief in my explanation, everything you need is there for the tricky parts, but if you have problems with toolkit or anything else look it up on xda) but this post will cut down the process time!
thanks. i am not resposible for any faults or problems with your phone but if you do it correctly all should be good
As I read this, immediately under your thread in the index is this thread....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2733523

^^^^^ The thread is for those who have flashed @graffixnyc Google Edition RUU conversion and want to get back to sense. (In effect what you written about)

Plus, and this is just a personal thing, I would stay away from tool kits until you know what to do should the whole thing mess up. Toolkits are good but if the process screws up and your knowledge of adb etc is limited to the toolkit you could be in trouble (This is a general reference to ANYONE using a toolkit - not you specifically!)

EDIT - Having said all of that I have just noticed that you posted this in the RUU thread 5 minutes before STARTING this thread. Why did you start a new topic?


I UPGRADED TO A 5GHZ CABLE HUB FOR THIS???


IF I DON'T HELP YOU, IT'S NOT BECAUSE I DON'T GIVE A TOSS. I JUST DON'T KNOW THE ANSWER.
IF I DO, PLEASE HIT THE THANKS BUTTON.
 
KKRES
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 4
Join Date: May 2014

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by grentuu View Post
As I read this, immediately under your thread in the index is this thread....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2733523

^^^^^ The thread is for those who have flashed @graffixnyc Google Edition RUU conversion and want to get back to sense. (In effect what you written about)

Plus, and this is just a personal thing, I would stay away from tool kits until you know what to do should the whole thing mess up. Toolkits are good but if the process screws up and your knowledge of adb etc is limited to the toolkit you could be in trouble (This is a general reference to ANYONE using a toolkit - not you specifically!)

EDIT - Having said all of that I have just noticed that you posted this in the RUU thread 5 minutes before STARTING this thread. Why did you start a new topic?

sorry accident with posting a new thread, how can i delete it
thats fair enough, i understand i guess i was just sharing how i did it, and possibly the easiest was to return to sense
 
grentuu
Old
#4  
grentuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 524
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Just outside of Manchester UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by KKRES View Post
sorry accident with posting a new thread, how can i delete it
thats fair enough, i understand i guess i was just sharing how i did it, and possibly the easiest was to return to sense
You can request for a moderator to close it, then join in with the other thread


I UPGRADED TO A 5GHZ CABLE HUB FOR THIS???


IF I DON'T HELP YOU, IT'S NOT BECAUSE I DON'T GIVE A TOSS. I JUST DON'T KNOW THE ANSWER.
IF I DO, PLEASE HIT THE THANKS BUTTON.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes