FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

Razr M, no google account for contacts

5 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By csingh01, Junior Member on 9th May 2014, 11:38 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi All,

Long time reader, first time poster (hopefully in the right section). I am an absolute novice so please bear with me. I rooted my Razr M (XT905) to remove a bunch of the pre installed apps.

All worked fine and phone runs great. But I cant import my contacts from my google account. Gmail and app store syncing works fine, just contacts are missing.

When I access the options menu in the contact section, google isn't showing. When I look at the accounts in the settings menu, the google account is there and has the option checked to sync 'people details' (guessing this is the same as contacts).

So I'm guessing I've deleted something when removing the apps.

Any ideas as to what I might have done and how I can fix this?

Appreciate any help.
 
 
9th May 2014, 03:49 PM |#2  
meatboy371's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csingh01

Hi All,

Long time reader, first time poster (hopefully in the right section). I am an absolute novice so please bear with me. I rooted my Razr M (XT905) to remove a bunch of the pre installed apps.

All worked fine and phone runs great. But I cant import my contacts from my google account. Gmail and app store syncing works fine, just contacts are missing.

When I access the options menu in the contact section, google isn't showing. When I look at the accounts in the settings menu, the google account is there and has the option checked to sync 'people details' (guessing this is the same as contacts).

So I'm guessing I've deleted something when removing the apps.

Any ideas as to what I might have done and how I can fix this?

Appreciate any help.

You should have a contacts sync option in Google acount. Maybe you deleted GoogleContacstSyncAdapter.apk or ContactsProvider.apk from /system/app folder
The Following User Says Thank You to meatboy371 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 12:53 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by meatboy371

You should have a contacts sync option in Google acount. Maybe you deleted GoogleContacstSyncAdapter.apk or ContactsProvider.apk from /system/app folder

Anyway to restore them?
10th May 2014, 02:31 AM |#4  
meatboy371's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 232
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by csingh01

Anyway to restore them?

Which android version are you using? I'm attaching 4.4 version apks for you, but I'm not sure if it will work with previous Android versions. Put the apks in system/app folder (ContactsProvider should go to system/priv-app if you're on Android 4.4), change permissions to 644 (see attached image) and reboot.
If those don't work, try searching for apks from the same Android version as yours. You can find it in xda.

Please reply if it worked or not cause another user can try and help you too, but i hope it helps bro.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-09-22-21-04.png
Views:	12
Size:	127.7 KB
ID:	2735255  
Attached Files
File Type: apk ContactsProvider.apk - [Click for QR Code] (385.9 KB, 2 views)
File Type: apk GoogleContactsSyncAdapter.apk - [Click for QR Code] (194.2 KB, 3 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to meatboy371 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 06:17 AM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by meatboy371

Which android version are you using? I'm attaching 4.4 version apks for you, but I'm not sure if it will work with previous Android versions. Put the apks in system/app folder (ContactsProvider should go to system/priv-app if you're on Android 4.4), change permissions to 644 (see attached image) and reboot.
If those don't work, try searching for apks from the same Android version as yours. You can find it in xda.

Please reply if it worked or not cause another user can try and help you too, but i hope it helps bro.


Thanks for the replies. Using 4.1.2.

When I've tried to copy the GoogleContactsSyncAdapter file using ES File Explorer, I get the message in the attached screenshot. How do I get around this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-05-10-15-08-29.png
Views:	9
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	2735555  
10th May 2014, 06:22 AM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 636
 
Donate to Me
More
Gotta mount the system as Read/Write(should be something similar to this: On the left hand panel "Tools->Root Explorer->Mount R/W" then pick your preferred options.) , and make sure to change the permissions once you move them there (here's a short little video guide - older ES, but same idea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-hhXuQ0_B28).

I also hope you aren't trying to use the ones posted here for this as it surely won't work properly.

Did you make sure to see if you were actually missing those apps?
Last edited by es0tericcha0s; 10th May 2014 at 06:26 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to es0tericcha0s For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th May 2014, 02:00 PM |#7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks again for the replies.

All good now. Flashed the pacman 4.4 update with the correct apps and all working.

Only problem now is wifi wont turn on. When I toggle it on, it stays grey and no networks are detected.

Any suggestions for this issue?


Never mind, all sorted, thanks again
Last edited by csingh01; 12th May 2014 at 04:30 PM. Reason: Resolved
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes