FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

Why does LTE connection seem weaker than other sprint LTE phones?

36 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Eckono, Member on 26th April 2014, 06:54 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
5th May 2014, 04:47 PM |#11  
gregg37's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Yea, in the last year I have had an iphone 5, Note2, and Note3. New Orleans is newly upgraded to LTE (not yet Spark), and coverage was great on those three phones. This S5, however, constantly switches from LTE to 3G in areas where the other three phones stayed on LTE. It also drops to no data at all way too often in areas where data is fine. (I play Ingress, so I am VERY familiar with the signal capabilities all over town)

Is there any hope of this phone's signal strength being improved with software updates? Will Spark make a difference when it hits New Orleans?

This piece of garbage is pretty pathetic signal-wise compared to my other devices I've recently used. I've got Sprint to agree to a phone swap, but if that's not going to make a difference, perhaps I should just go back to my Note3.
Last edited by gregg37; 5th May 2014 at 04:54 PM.
 
 
6th May 2014, 08:40 PM |#12  
bambam126's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwalk CA
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
I have this phone it does drop lte alot plus I have spark. But I have an offer to trade for a note 3 idk if I want ..I like yhe fingerprint scanner but this signal is boo boo ....
6th May 2014, 10:18 PM |#13  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregg37

Yea, in the last year I have had an iphone 5, Note2, and Note3. New Orleans is newly upgraded to LTE (not yet Spark), and coverage was great on those three phones. This S5, however, constantly switches from LTE to 3G in areas where the other three phones stayed on LTE. It also drops to no data at all way too often in areas where data is fine. (I play Ingress, so I am VERY familiar with the signal capabilities all over town)

Is there any hope of this phone's signal strength being improved with software updates? Will Spark make a difference when it hits New Orleans?

This piece of garbage is pretty pathetic signal-wise compared to my other devices I've recently used. I've got Sprint to agree to a phone swap, but if that's not going to make a difference, perhaps I should just go back to my Note3.

I wouldnt worry about the phone swap. I skeptically did it to see if it would work and ended up wasting an hour in ths store. between my friends and family we have 4 GS5s that all have the same issues.

None of your previous phones were triband. They only could connect to 1900mhz LTE. The GS5 is a triband phone, aka spark, that can connect to 800/1900/2600mhz LTE. Unfortunately there are issues with the software on the towers (search eCSFB) that changes you between bands. I have turned off band 41 and it has helped a lot even tho my area is a "spark" area. I turn it back on once in a while to see if things are fixed.

There have been complaints that the GS5 has worse connectivity because of the water resistant design compared to phones such as the GS4. its really only a couple dbm from what i have seen when looking at actual signal values from engineering screens and when comparing the same band of LTE.

As far as shutting off bands, you will need your MSL code. you can either get it from a sprint rep (all i did was ask) or you can use the MSL reader here
tools.flashingtools.com

use dialer code ##3282# and go to edit. enter your MSL code and go to LTE. turn off B41 and restart your phone.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Shiftlock For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 10:23 PM |#14  
gregg37's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiftlock


As far as shutting off bands, you will need your MSL code. you can either get it from a sprint rep (all i did was ask) or you can use the MSL reader here
tools.flashingtools.com

use dialer code ##3282# and go to edit. enter your MSL code and go to LTE. turn off B41 and restart your phone.

Thank you, Shiftlock! This is the kind of help I was hoping for. I'll give that a try!
7th May 2014, 01:47 PM |#15  
gregg37's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shiftlock


use dialer code ##3282# and go to edit. enter your MSL code and go to LTE. turn off B41 and restart your phone.

Ok I've got this turned off. Will it persist through resets and restarts? Or will I have to keep turning it off?
(have to remember to bookmark this so I remember how to turn it back on when Spark hits New Orleans, which I think is somewhat soon)
7th May 2014, 04:04 PM |#16  
Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gregg37

Ok I've got this turned off. Will it persist through resets and restarts? Or will I have to keep turning it off?
(have to remember to bookmark this so I remember how to turn it back on when Spark hits New Orleans, which I think is somewhat soon)

Yes this will stay until you either change it back or do a system update. I noticed that nd2 changed it back. You may want to check it after clearing data/cache if you flash any mods or roms. Luckily the msl won't change so it's easy enough to fix if needed
Last edited by Shiftlock; 7th May 2014 at 10:42 PM.
8th May 2014, 02:08 AM |#17  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,654
 
More
I'm getting LTE coverage in places I wouldn't with my s4. The data is definitely better

-Sent from Tapatalk
9th May 2014, 04:20 PM |#18  
CCallahan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rock Chalk
Thanks Meter: 715
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecon82

I'm getting LTE coverage in places I wouldn't with my s4. The data is definitely better

-Sent from Tapatalk

Better because of turning off band 41 or just comparing the S5 to the S4?
12th May 2014, 02:28 PM |#19  
gregg37's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCallahan

Better because of turning off band 41 or just comparing the S5 to the S4?

Guess we'll never know....

(mine still sucks after trying that, btw)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes