Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,298 Members 39,514 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Using T-Mobile or Other Firmware on AT&T Note 3?

Tip us?
 
hyelton
Old
#1  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2318
Posts: 4,869
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Using T-Mobile or Other Firmware on AT&T Note 3?

Is it possible? Thinking about Getting a Note 3, But I don`t like the changes AT&T makes. For an example The data icons AT&T puts in there and all the AT&T to go junk. Anyone Flash T-Mobile or other firmwares on there AT&T Note 3? Back when I had my AT&T Note 1 I flashed the N7005 International Rom on it, same went with my Note 2.
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
440bro
Old
#2  
440bro's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 383
Posts: 1,110
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cleveland ROCKS!!!

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
Is it possible? Thinking about Getting a Note 3, But I don`t like the changes AT&T makes. For an example The data icons AT&T puts in there and all the AT&T to go junk. Anyone Flash T-Mobile or other firmwares on there AT&T Note 3? Back when I had my AT&T Note 1 I flashed the N7005 International Rom on it, same went with my Note 2.
The SM-N900A or at&t note 3 has a locked bootloader. This prevents us from installing a custom recovery and flashing other firmware. So unfortunately at this time you won't be able to flash anything. If you were to obtain one anyway and it came preloaded with Kit Kat, you won't even be able to obtain root access. If you are lucky enough to obtain one with android 4.3 you can obtain root. There's even a work around for 4.3 called safestrap. Safestrap allows us to install tweeked roms. But there's not that many of them compared to the previous note versions you use to have.

Many at&t note 3 owners have sold or traded for the T-Mobile variant. The T-Mobile note 3 bootloader is unlocked.

I hope that gives you some insight.
The Following User Says Thank You to 440bro For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hyelton
Old
#3  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2318
Posts: 4,869
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by 440bro View Post
The SM-N900A or at&t note 3 has a locked bootloader. This prevents us from installing a custom recovery and flashing other firmware. So unfortunately at this time you won't be able to flash anything. If you were to obtain one anyway and it came preloaded with Kit Kat, you won't even be able to obtain root access. If you are lucky enough to obtain one with android 4.3 you can obtain root. There's even a work around for 4.3 called safestrap. Safestrap allows us to install tweeked roms. But there's not that many of them compared to the previous note versions you use to have.

Many at&t note 3 owners have sold or traded for the T-Mobile variant. The T-Mobile note 3 bootloader is unlocked.

I hope that gives you some insight.
Thank you! Must be the reason why the T-Mobile one will cost me about $35 more used. If I got the T-Mobile Version I might not even root. I just hate what AT&T Does with the Software.
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
hyelton
Old
#4  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2318
Posts: 4,869
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Is there even root on theAT&T Note 3? on 4.4.2? I dont care about tripping Knox as long as it doesnt harm anything
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
whatsitsnamenow
Old
(Last edited by whatsitsnamenow; 12th May 2014 at 04:19 PM.)
#5  
whatsitsnamenow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 813
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyelton View Post
Is there even root on theAT&T Note 3? on 4.4.2? I dont care about tripping Knox as long as it doesnt harm anything
No. There is no root for 4.4.2 as of yet. Avoid the ATT version if at all possible.

BTW thanks for hosting those LG firmwares. It has been very helpful in returning my phones to oem state.
 
hyelton
Old
#6  
hyelton's Avatar
Recognized Contributor - OP
Thanks Meter 2318
Posts: 4,869
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wilmington

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatsitsnamenow View Post
No. There is no root for 4.4.2 as of yet. Avoid the ATT version if at all possible.

BTW thanks for hosting those LG firmwares. It has been very helpful in returning my phones to oem state.
Theres a local Note 3 well somewhat local Note 3 but its AT&T

Been looking at a T-mobile Note 3 for a few days on Swappa for $435
My Build: ASRock 970 Extreme4 | Amd FX-6300 OC to 4.5Ghz | Nvidia GTX-650-Ti | 8GB 1600 | 120GB Samsung 840 SSD | 500GB Hard Drive | Windows 7 Pro | NZXT 810 White Case.
Current Phone: Sony Xperia Z1 (White)

Check out my Personal site and Photography www.hunterspad.com

Please Click Thanks If I helped you in any way!
If you need anything Hosted Or mirrored: Send a PM my Way
My Server Specs: 24X Intel Xeon E5-2620 2.1Ghz,32GB Ram,2TB HD
 
whatsitsnamenow
Old
#7  
whatsitsnamenow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 87
Posts: 813
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: California
What's the price difference between the 2? I would try the Att if you can get it for under 370. If over that I would do the T-Mobile version. The unlock bootloader is worth it. Just make sure it is paid off (T-Mobile version) before you buy it.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes