Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more
Post Reply

Need help/advice

3rd May 2014, 11:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
(I'm a noob, keep that in mind plz) A few days ago, I decided to install a custom rom. I chose for the viper 4.0.7 rom (android 4.2.2 JB). I did a lot of reading and followed all the provided steps. In the end, I ended up with a "f**d up phone". At the beginning I was running android 4.2.2 (stock of course). The First thing that I did was unlocking the bootloader, after I did this I noticed that my wifi wasn't working anymore. I thought this wouldn't matter because I was going to install a different rom anyway. As stupid as I was for not making a backup, I flashed the recovery, boot img and rom. Once installed succesfully, I noticed that my wifi wasn't working either. My connection to the provider also weakens sometimes. I tried installing different roms, but still no change. Finaly when I installed a rom running on Android 4.1, my wifi started working (not good though). When I reinstalled the rom, (just to test) my wifi stopped working again... With some roms I don't have any connection to my provider, so i can't call or anything. I have no clue what to do, I have tried everything I could come up with. Also, when i install a rom android 4.3 or above, the phone ends up in a boot loop.

- relocking bootloader
- installing different roms/versions
- Ruu method. This fails, it says it can only update which also fails afterwards.
- Restoring a nandroid backup (found online). Succesfully restores, no wifi.

I really need help right now because i ran out of options..

fastboot getvar all command:

(bootloader) version: 0.5a
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.72.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 5.1204.167.31
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.18.401.2
(bootloader) product: endeavoru
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-T30S
(bootloader) modelid: PJ4610000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__E11
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4131mV
(bootloader) devpower: 100
(bootloader) partition-layout: None
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: None
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 2
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
4th May 2014, 11:50 AM   |  #2  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sofia
Thanks Meter: 549
 
1,783 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by boaaal

(I'm a noob, keep that in mind plz) A few days ago, I decided to install a custom rom. I chose for the viper 4.0.7 rom (android 4.2.2 JB). I did a lot of reading and followed all the provided steps. In the end, I ended up with a "f**d up phone". At the beginning I was running android 4.2.2 (stock of course). The First thing that I did was unlocking the bootloader, after I did this I noticed that my wifi wasn't working anymore. I thought this wouldn't matter because I was going to install a different rom anyway. As stupid as I was for not making a backup, I flashed the recovery, boot img and rom. Once installed succesfully, I noticed that my wifi wasn't working either. My connection to the provider also weakens sometimes. I tried installing different roms, but still no change. Finaly when I installed a rom running on Android 4.1, my wifi started working (not good though). When I reinstalled the rom, (just to test) my wifi stopped working again... With some roms I don't have any connection to my provider, so i can't call or anything. I have no clue what to do, I have tried everything I could come up with. Also, when i install a rom android 4.3 or above, the phone ends up in a boot loop.

- relocking bootloader
- installing different roms/versions
- Ruu method. This fails, it says it can only update which also fails afterwards.
- Restoring a nandroid backup (found online). Succesfully restores, no wifi.

I really need help right now because i ran out of options..

You must to WIPE cache, dalvik, sormat system and data partition from recovery. After this install new rom
5th May 2014, 11:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thant

You must to WIPE cache, dalvik, sormat system and data partition from recovery. After this install new rom

I did wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache and wipe dalvik cache before installing a new rom. Anything i'm looking over?
5th May 2014, 01:05 PM   |  #4  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,504
 
13,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
For viper x :

Flash the boot.img via fastboot :

Fastboot flash boot boot.img
Fastboot erase cache

Enter the recovery and do :

Factory reset
Wipe cache partition
Advanced - wipe dalvik cache
Mounts and storage - format data,cache and system

Then install the rom, choose in the aroma for "no wipe" install and full rom install. Don't delete any apps from the lists.

Then it should boot fine.

These instructions apply with use of this recovery

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qp21ubo10x...y%205.15.9.img
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th May 2014, 10:53 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs

For viper x :

Flash the boot.img via fastboot :

Fastboot flash boot boot.img
Fastboot erase cache

Enter the recovery and do :

Factory reset
Wipe cache partition
Advanced - wipe dalvik cache
Mounts and storage - format data,cache and system

Then install the rom, choose in the aroma for "no wipe" install and full rom install. Don't delete any apps from the lists.

Then it should boot fine.

These instructions apply with use of this recovery

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qp21ubo10x...y%205.15.9.img

It did install (as usual), but still no wifi.
Last edited by boaaal; 7th May 2014 at 09:16 AM. Reason: grammar
7th May 2014, 10:39 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by boaaal

It did install (as usual), but still no wifi.

Have you tried the wifi patch from RichmondUK ?
7th May 2014, 11:53 AM   |  #7  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,504
 
13,948 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebukad_fr

Have you tried the wifi patch from RichmondUK ?

Thats already in the rom
9th May 2014, 12:44 PM   |  #8  
a.broken.star's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag India
Thanks Meter: 486
 
809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Try some other custom kernel and see if that helps...
13th May 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
I localised the problem... It seems that my phone just can't connect to my home wifi network. To solve the problem, I tried resetting the router, but no succes. I also checked if mac filtering was enabled, but it was not. Anyone got some tips left..

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes