Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,623 Members 50,771 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Need help/advice

Tip us?
 
boaaal
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Unhappy Need help/advice

(I'm a noob, keep that in mind plz) A few days ago, I decided to install a custom rom. I chose for the viper 4.0.7 rom (android 4.2.2 JB). I did a lot of reading and followed all the provided steps. In the end, I ended up with a "f**d up phone". At the beginning I was running android 4.2.2 (stock of course). The First thing that I did was unlocking the bootloader, after I did this I noticed that my wifi wasn't working anymore. I thought this wouldn't matter because I was going to install a different rom anyway. As stupid as I was for not making a backup, I flashed the recovery, boot img and rom. Once installed succesfully, I noticed that my wifi wasn't working either. My connection to the provider also weakens sometimes. I tried installing different roms, but still no change. Finaly when I installed a rom running on Android 4.1, my wifi started working (not good though). When I reinstalled the rom, (just to test) my wifi stopped working again... With some roms I don't have any connection to my provider, so i can't call or anything. I have no clue what to do, I have tried everything I could come up with. Also, when i install a rom android 4.3 or above, the phone ends up in a boot loop.

- relocking bootloader
- installing different roms/versions
- Ruu method. This fails, it says it can only update which also fails afterwards.
- Restoring a nandroid backup (found online). Succesfully restores, no wifi.

I really need help right now because i ran out of options..

fastboot getvar all command:

(bootloader) version: 0.5a
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.72.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 5.1204.167.31
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.18.401.2
(bootloader) product: endeavoru
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-T30S
(bootloader) modelid: PJ4610000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__E11
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4131mV
(bootloader) devpower: 100
(bootloader) partition-layout: None
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: None
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 2
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
 
Thant
Old
#2  
Thant's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 521
Posts: 1,687
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sofia

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by boaaal View Post
(I'm a noob, keep that in mind plz) A few days ago, I decided to install a custom rom. I chose for the viper 4.0.7 rom (android 4.2.2 JB). I did a lot of reading and followed all the provided steps. In the end, I ended up with a "f**d up phone". At the beginning I was running android 4.2.2 (stock of course). The First thing that I did was unlocking the bootloader, after I did this I noticed that my wifi wasn't working anymore. I thought this wouldn't matter because I was going to install a different rom anyway. As stupid as I was for not making a backup, I flashed the recovery, boot img and rom. Once installed succesfully, I noticed that my wifi wasn't working either. My connection to the provider also weakens sometimes. I tried installing different roms, but still no change. Finaly when I installed a rom running on Android 4.1, my wifi started working (not good though). When I reinstalled the rom, (just to test) my wifi stopped working again... With some roms I don't have any connection to my provider, so i can't call or anything. I have no clue what to do, I have tried everything I could come up with. Also, when i install a rom android 4.3 or above, the phone ends up in a boot loop.

- relocking bootloader
- installing different roms/versions
- Ruu method. This fails, it says it can only update which also fails afterwards.
- Restoring a nandroid backup (found online). Succesfully restores, no wifi.

I really need help right now because i ran out of options..
You must to WIPE cache, dalvik, sormat system and data partition from recovery. After this install new rom
If my post help you a click on Thanks would be nice

YOU ARE A NOOB CLICK HERE OR YOU ARE COMPLETE NOOB CLIK HERE

Device: HTC One X 32GB
CID: HTC__032
HBOOT: 1.72
KERNEL: lONELyX #023 LM_UV
ROM: lONElyX 1.0.1 with modification
 
boaaal
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thant View Post
You must to WIPE cache, dalvik, sormat system and data partition from recovery. After this install new rom
I did wipe data/factory reset, wipe cache and wipe dalvik cache before installing a new rom. Anything i'm looking over?
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#4  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,431
Posts: 13,841
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
For viper x :

Flash the boot.img via fastboot :

Fastboot flash boot boot.img
Fastboot erase cache

Enter the recovery and do :

Factory reset
Wipe cache partition
Advanced - wipe dalvik cache
Mounts and storage - format data,cache and system

Then install the rom, choose in the aroma for "no wipe" install and full rom install. Don't delete any apps from the lists.

Then it should boot fine.

These instructions apply with use of this recovery

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qp21ubo10x...y%205.15.9.img
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
boaaal
Old
(Last edited by boaaal; 7th May 2014 at 09:16 AM.) Reason: grammar
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
For viper x :

Flash the boot.img via fastboot :

Fastboot flash boot boot.img
Fastboot erase cache

Enter the recovery and do :

Factory reset
Wipe cache partition
Advanced - wipe dalvik cache
Mounts and storage - format data,cache and system

Then install the rom, choose in the aroma for "no wipe" install and full rom install. Don't delete any apps from the lists.

Then it should boot fine.

These instructions apply with use of this recovery

https://www.dropbox.com/s/qp21ubo10x...y%205.15.9.img
It did install (as usual), but still no wifi.
 
Nebukad_fr
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 14
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by boaaal View Post
It did install (as usual), but still no wifi.
Have you tried the wifi patch from RichmondUK ?
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#7  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,431
Posts: 13,841
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nebukad_fr View Post
Have you tried the wifi patch from RichmondUK ?
Thats already in the rom
 
a.broken.star
Old
#8  
a.broken.star's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 485
Posts: 807
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: India
Try some other custom kernel and see if that helps...

 
boaaal
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Apr 2014
I localised the problem... It seems that my phone just can't connect to my home wifi network. To solve the problem, I tried resetting the router, but no succes. I also checked if mac filtering was enabled, but it was not. Anyone got some tips left..

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more