Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,801 Members 40,133 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

update and unroot

Tip us?
 
npesa92
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 154
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default update and unroot

I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance
 
ayemiller
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 27
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by npesa92 View Post
I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance
Do you really mean that you have safestrap or are you on a "LOKI" rom? Do you have a custom recovery installed? Although I haven't used this, if you are actually using safestrap, then yes, you can use this.
 
tech_head
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 294
Posts: 1,012
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by npesa92 View Post
I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance
Yes, it's "safe" if you follow the instructions. I have done it.
It will wipe your phone....... Not the SD stuff but everything else it wiped.
You should backup and before doing this with Titanium Backup or ADB.

This will leave you rooted with MK2 still as your bootloader with the ability to ODIN back to MK2 at some point, if need be.
This puts you off the ranch, but ODIN can get you back on the ranch later.

There is currently no other way to have root on KitKat. So if root is important and you want KitKat, this is it.
Now if you don't care about root, go flash the MK2 No-Wipe found on this forum, then take the OTA.
You need to remove SS to do that though.
 
cbmggm
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 273
Posts: 547
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Medinah IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech_head View Post
Yes, it's "safe" if you follow the instructions. I have done it.
It will wipe your phone....... Not the SD stuff but everything else it wiped.
You should backup and before doing this with Titanium Backup or ADB.

This will leave you rooted with MK2 still as your bootloader with the ability to ODIN back to MK2 at some point, if need be.
This puts you off the ranch, but ODIN can get you back on the ranch later.

There is currently no other way to have root on KitKat. So if root is important and you want KitKat, this is it.
Now if you don't care about root, go flash the MK2 No-Wipe found on this forum, then take the OTA.
You need to remove SS to do that though.
The No Wipe Odin MK2 method will remove SS.
 
mancolla
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: May 2014
Default help! was rooted 4.3 tried flashing stock 4.4.2 failed

I had 4.3 rooted and i tried flashing stock 4.4.2 not im pretty much bricked! please if someone can help me i would really appreciate it
 
Mistertac
Old
#6  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,600
Posts: 3,415
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Springfield, Ma

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mancolla View Post
I had 4.3 rooted and i tried flashing stock 4.4.2 not im pretty much bricked! please if someone can help me i would really appreciate it
How'd you try flashing it that led you to here? If you can get into download mode just use the Odin file... Since I don't know exactly what you did you could try mk2but may not work and you may have to Odin NC5.. Little more info will help

Sent from my jflte using Tapatalk
 
pitokellie
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 72
Join Date: May 2009
Location: lehighton pa
I tried to ota update but I get an error. Phone is Custom unlock,was rooted. I unrooted.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes