Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

update and unroot

OP npesa92

3rd May 2014, 05:22 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
158 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance
6th May 2014, 07:45 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by npesa92

I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance

Do you really mean that you have safestrap or are you on a "LOKI" rom? Do you have a custom recovery installed? Although I haven't used this, if you are actually using safestrap, then yes, you can use this.
6th May 2014, 08:56 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 321
 
1,077 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by npesa92

I am on rooted mk2 with safestrap, can i unroot and upgrade all in one shot with this?: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2735172

as well is it safe to use the one that retains my data while updating to a new release?

thanks in advance

Yes, it's "safe" if you follow the instructions. I have done it.
It will wipe your phone....... Not the SD stuff but everything else it wiped.
You should backup and before doing this with Titanium Backup or ADB.

This will leave you rooted with MK2 still as your bootloader with the ability to ODIN back to MK2 at some point, if need be.
This puts you off the ranch, but ODIN can get you back on the ranch later.

There is currently no other way to have root on KitKat. So if root is important and you want KitKat, this is it.
Now if you don't care about root, go flash the MK2 No-Wipe found on this forum, then take the OTA.
You need to remove SS to do that though.
7th May 2014, 05:09 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Scottsdale AZ
Thanks Meter: 306
 
588 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech_head

Yes, it's "safe" if you follow the instructions. I have done it.
It will wipe your phone....... Not the SD stuff but everything else it wiped.
You should backup and before doing this with Titanium Backup or ADB.

This will leave you rooted with MK2 still as your bootloader with the ability to ODIN back to MK2 at some point, if need be.
This puts you off the ranch, but ODIN can get you back on the ranch later.

There is currently no other way to have root on KitKat. So if root is important and you want KitKat, this is it.
Now if you don't care about root, go flash the MK2 No-Wipe found on this forum, then take the OTA.
You need to remove SS to do that though.

The No Wipe Odin MK2 method will remove SS.
7th May 2014, 06:37 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
help! was rooted 4.3 tried flashing stock 4.4.2 failed
I had 4.3 rooted and i tried flashing stock 4.4.2 not im pretty much bricked! please if someone can help me i would really appreciate it
7th May 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #6  
Mistertac's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 2,267
 
4,287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mancolla

I had 4.3 rooted and i tried flashing stock 4.4.2 not im pretty much bricked! please if someone can help me i would really appreciate it

How'd you try flashing it that led you to here? If you can get into download mode just use the Odin file... Since I don't know exactly what you did you could try mk2but may not work and you may have to Odin NC5.. Little more info will help

Sent from my jflte using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #7  
Member
Flag lehighton pa
Thanks Meter: 5
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I tried to ota update but I get an error. Phone is Custom unlock,was rooted. I unrooted.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes