Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

[Q] Flashed new TWRP now no recovery.

13th May 2014, 02:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I installed the KOT49H GE ROM on my AT&T SGH-I337 and it runs great. I then decided to see if there was an update to TWRP and I found an updated one and flashed it via goo.im. I later read that this is not the way to do it. Anyway, when I boot into recovery a big yella triangle appears and at&t scolds me for running in authorized firmware. I can boot into download, cancel it and the ROM boots and runs fine.

Under the "about device" page on settings it says the baseband is MK2 (because I flashed that modem). If I look at the boot loader version via android terminal emulator it shows I'm still on MDL.

Any ideas how to get recovery working again?
13th May 2014, 03:32 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
I am trying to understand the reason why you flashed a recovery.
From your post, it looks like you are using safestrap and deadly venom tool to run GE.
You can flash the MLD files from the tool to get the recovery back.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
13th May 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I found an updated version of TWRP and thought it would be a good idea to update it. I think the problem might be that I didn't use Loki doki before I installed the twrp update. It can't get to the recovery now. Will I mess anything up if I use motochopper? I don't want safestrap because I like the Google Edition ROM and I'm still on the MDL boot loader.

I'm pretty much a newb with this S4. I had my S2 rooted with task650's ROM and understood that better because no locked bootloader
13th May 2014, 05:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
379 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by insaneretard

I found an updated version of TWRP and thought it would be a good idea to update it. I think the problem might be that I didn't use Loki doki before I installed the twrp update. It can't get to the recovery now. Will I mess anything up if I use motochopper? I don't want safestrap because I like the Google Edition ROM and I'm still on the MDL boot loader.

I'm pretty much a newb with this S4. I had my S2 rooted with task650's ROM and understood that better because no locked bootloader

My bad! I read that you had "MLD" bootloader instead of "MDL" and hence my comment. MLD is a leaked 4.4 firmware.

Motochopper is used to root and I am guessing you still have root. All you need to do is flash a recovery.

http://www.theandroidsoul.com/latest...-4-compatible/

This link provides an Odin flashable TWRP.
13th May 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmjoyas

My bad! I read that you had "MLD" bootloader instead of "MDL" and hence my comment. MLD is a leaked 4.4 firmware.

Motochopper is used to root and I am guessing you still have root. All you need to do is flash a recovery.

http://www.theandroidsoul.com/latest...-4-compatible/

This link provides an Odin flashable TWRP.

Thanks for helping me out. I tried this yesterday and today with the link you provided. When I try to flash it via odin, it comes up as failed. On my phone, it says "SECURE CHECK FAIL: recovery" in red letters on the download page. Any other ideas?
13th May 2014, 07:07 PM   |  #6  
Red_81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St.Louis Metro
Thanks Meter: 625
 
1,135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
You could try grabbing the mdl package, an extracting the recovery from it and flash in Odin or Heimdall. Worst case you flash to mdl and then motochopper it again.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
13th May 2014, 08:17 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red_81

You could try grabbing the mdl package, an extracting the recovery from it and flash in Odin or Heimdall. Worst case you flash to mdl and then motochopper it again.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks. Do i need root to do this? I don't think I even have root any more. I'm running a custom ROM without root access. I tried to use CASUAL to root and install the recovery but it couldn't root it.
14th May 2014, 03:01 AM   |  #8  
Red_81's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag St.Louis Metro
Thanks Meter: 625
 
1,135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
You will only need to root again if you go all the way back to stock.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes