Post Reply

[Q] Can Verizon HTC One M8 be converted to Developer Edition ?

OP rachitboom2

14th May 2014, 04:08 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Can Verizon HTC One M8 be converted to Developer Edition like it was possible with M7 ?

If so then would please guide me to the page ?

Thanks in advance
14th May 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

Can Verizon HTC One M8 be converted to Developer Edition like it was possible with M7 ?

If so then would please guide me to the page ?

Thanks in advance

Was about to answer seriously, but then realized I was about to get trolled.
14th May 2014, 04:56 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Why?
I'm seriously asking.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app
14th May 2014, 04:59 AM   |  #4  
exad's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 1,420
 
3,346 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

Why?
I'm seriously asking.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

Because the dev edition is just an international m8 with an unlocked bootloader. You can unlock the bootloader. As for the international version software/firmware. No.
14th May 2014, 05:24 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

Why?
I'm seriously asking.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Free mobile app

I apologize if your question was serious. But, as the poster above stated, a developer edition isn't really anything special other than that it comes factory sim and bootloader unlocked. There's really no such thing as converting to a developer edition.
14th May 2014, 05:36 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 60
 
307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MindfulSheep

I apologize if your question was serious. But, as the poster above stated, a developer edition isn't really anything special other than that it comes factory sim and bootloader unlocked. There's really no such thing as converting to a developer edition.

Actually if I can install the developer edition rom on Verizon M8 I will have no Verizon bloatware and it gets the fastest software updates directly from HTC.

Like my At&t M7 converted to Developer Edition received kitkat update 1 month before At&t released it.

Also Verizon rom has removed a few options such as switching between 2g/3g. It only has a switch between 3g/4g. I live in India where only a few states have 4G ang I dont have 4G in my region. But this is just an example.
14th May 2014, 06:41 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

Actually if I can install the developer edition rom on Verizon M8 I will have no Verizon bloatware and it gets the fastest software updates directly from HTC.

Like my At&t M7 converted to Developer Edition received kitkat update 1 month before At&t released it.

Also Verizon rom has removed a few options such as switching between 2g/3g. It only has a switch between 3g/4g. I live in India where only a few states have 4G ang I dont have 4G in my region. But this is just an example.

I'm assuming you're speaking towards being able to receive the regular OTA's from HTC for the dev edition. While it should be possible to flash a stock dev edition rom, I can't say for certain whether you would actually be able to receive the OTA's.
Last edited by MindfulSheep; 14th May 2014 at 06:43 AM.
14th May 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #8  
kirdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 315
 
2,203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rachitboom2

Can Verizon HTC One M8 be converted to Developer Edition like it was possible with M7 ?

If so then would please guide me to the page ?

Thanks in advance

No visit the GPE RUU conversion thread and it states that conversion works only for GSM models and doesn't work with CDMA. Bad luck you are with Verizon, screw them and use a gsm carrier like att or T-Mobile

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
14th May 2014, 07:05 AM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirdroid

No visit the GPE RUU conversion thread and it states that conversion works only for GSM models and doesn't work with CDMA. Bad luck you are with Verizon, screw them and use a gsm carrier like att or T-Mobile

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

The dev edition uses Sense. I can say that for sure because I have a dev edition. That being said, there still could be a conflict because of Verizon/CDMA since the dev edition is based on GSM.
14th May 2014, 07:16 AM   |  #10  
kirdroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 315
 
2,203 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MindfulSheep

The dev edition uses Sense. I can say that for sure because I have a dev edition. That being said, there still could be a conflict because of Verizon/CDMA since the dev edition is based on GSM.

Misread the thread, I thought he wanted to convert to gpe edition.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank