Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,750 Members 43,792 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to hide soft buttons?

Tip us?
 
Kobro
Old
(Last edited by Kobro; 5th May 2014 at 12:04 PM.)
#1  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 419
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moshav Matityahu
Default How to hide soft buttons?

I have seen many apps that hide the soft buttons on tablets and phones, but i need a way to hide only certain buttons. My tablet has five soft buttons, recent apps, back, home, and volume up and down. I don't need the volume keys, so i was wondering if there is a way to hide only certain soft buttons.
You can see the soft buttons in the screenshot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1398756588320.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	5.9 KB
ID:	2715133  
Press Thanks if i helped!

The Eleventh Commandment- "Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it."

Sign up to Copy.com using this link, and we both get an extra 5gb of free cloud!
https://copy.com?r=1txCqp

If youre into computer games, check out tanki online!
http://tankionline.com#friend=569lJ8...yh7rTJL5dHyg7m
 
Kobro
Old
#2  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 419
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moshav Matityahu
No one?
Press Thanks if i helped!

The Eleventh Commandment- "Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it."

Sign up to Copy.com using this link, and we both get an extra 5gb of free cloud!
https://copy.com?r=1txCqp

If youre into computer games, check out tanki online!
http://tankionline.com#friend=569lJ8...yh7rTJL5dHyg7m
 
74NK
Old
(Last edited by 74NK; 5th May 2014 at 07:24 PM.)
#3  
74NK's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 30
Join Date: Apr 2014
it is called a nav bar. certain roms have a feature to disable it just like the statusbar. try settings or immersive mode.
Edit: certain soft keys you say, eh?
well that i cannot help with. try gravity box, or systemui.apk editing.

Sent from my Xperia Go using Tapatalk
 
tonyafc
Old
#4  
tonyafc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Try softkeyz in the app store I'm sure I have seen softkeyz packs with blanks should do what you need

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Kobro
Old
#5  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 419
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moshav Matityahu
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyafc View Post
Try softkeyz in the app store I'm sure I have seen softkeyz packs with blanks should do what you need

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
does this app need root?
Press Thanks if i helped!

The Eleventh Commandment- "Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it."

Sign up to Copy.com using this link, and we both get an extra 5gb of free cloud!
https://copy.com?r=1txCqp

If youre into computer games, check out tanki online!
http://tankionline.com#friend=569lJ8...yh7rTJL5dHyg7m
 
tonyafc
Old
#6  
tonyafc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
For this level of customisation you need root are you rooted ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
 
Kobro
Old
#7  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 419
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moshav Matityahu
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyafc View Post
For this level of customisation you need root are you rooted ?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Free mobile app
no i have not succeded nothing seems to root the darn thing.
Press Thanks if i helped!

The Eleventh Commandment- "Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it."

Sign up to Copy.com using this link, and we both get an extra 5gb of free cloud!
https://copy.com?r=1txCqp

If youre into computer games, check out tanki online!
http://tankionline.com#friend=569lJ8...yh7rTJL5dHyg7m
 
tonyafc
Old
#8  
tonyafc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 113
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London
Which device is it ?

Nexus 5 xposed + gravitybox
 
Kobro
Old
#9  
Kobro's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 66
Posts: 419
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Moshav Matityahu
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyafc View Post
Which device is it ?

Nexus 5 xposed + gravitybox
NTDM- 3000.
i have followed the guides at xda and androidcentral, nothing works... if you can help, that'd be great!
Press Thanks if i helped!

The Eleventh Commandment- "Thou hast not to like it, thou hast just to do it."

Sign up to Copy.com using this link, and we both get an extra 5gb of free cloud!
https://copy.com?r=1txCqp

If youre into computer games, check out tanki online!
http://tankionline.com#friend=569lJ8...yh7rTJL5dHyg7m

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


And the Winners in the XDA Pebble Development Challenge Are…

Almost two months ago, we set out with Pebble to findthree amazing … more

MediaTek Releases Full Kernel Source for First Android One Devices

Those who might have thought that MediaTek wouldnever release working … more

Submitting a Patch to Gerrit – Featuring XplodWild – XDA Developer TV

Not every developer specializes in every area of … more

Learn How to Make a Live Wallpaper all by Yourself

Stillimages can bebeautiful, but some of you prefer to see animations on your screens. … more