Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] NC2 to NC4

13th May 2014, 02:44 AM   |  #1  
slowz3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Malmstrom AFB, MT
Thanks Meter: 102
 
2,347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
SUA will not upgrade from NC2 to NC4, any workaround?
13th May 2014, 01:20 PM   |  #2  
brianburen's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
89 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowz3r

SUA will not upgrade from NC2 to NC4, any workaround?

I too am wondering this question
13th May 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Odin probably. That's what someone said to me on the thread about it. Thinking of trying it. That zip download is going to take a few hours.

---------- Post added at 12:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:32 AM ----------

Yeah going thru Odin seems to do it just fine assuming you have the tar file. It was just like flashing the NC2 leak. Flash the tar file in Odin using the AP button. I made sure the Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time were checked (they were by default it seems). Good news is, it did not wipe my phone it seems, or maybe I forgot to check that option.
14th May 2014, 03:14 AM   |  #4  
fletch33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 320
 
1,055 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
best to WAIT until devs release an upgrade path they have tested. if you ODIN you may end up same as OTA and without root until maybe forever but who knows. if you dont care about root then go ahead.

BeansTown106 has already posted he has a copy of it and will work on releasing a pre-root just like NC2 so you can keep on the root path.
Last edited by fletch33; 14th May 2014 at 03:18 AM.
14th May 2014, 03:14 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Milwaukee, wi
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fletch33

best to WAIT until devs release an upgrade path they have tested. if you ODIN you may end up same as OTA and without root until maybe forever but who knows. if you dont care about root then go ahead.

BeansTown106 has already posted he has a copy of it and will work on releasing a pre-root just like NC2 so you can keep on the root path.

I installed it through ODIN last night, no issues as far as root goes...
14th May 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #6  
DrPhant0m's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 161
 
419 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I'm not here to tell you that you're making a grave mistake... but I would like to know WHY you want to update from NC2 to NC4.

My understanding is that NC2 was Verizon's development version, which has some pretty nice features that they do not want to general public to have, such as the ability to downgrade to MJE, and the software stubs (or whatever jargon you'd prefer) necessary to allow for kernel modules to be installed. This means the potential for a more open (less locked) bootloader. not necessarily fully unlocked, but at least allowing more wiggle room with kernel mods, but possibly fully AOSP-compatible.

That said... I think NC2 passed all the tests, and NC4 is the one that they released with all the locks in place, for public consumption.

So, I query you once again... why would you want to update to NC4? (A root-enabled release from Beans notwithstanding)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes