Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,031 Members 44,830 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] NC2 to NC4

Tip us?
 
slowz3r
Old
#1  
slowz3r's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 100
Posts: 2,329
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Malmstrom AFB, MT
Default [Q] NC2 to NC4

SUA will not upgrade from NC2 to NC4, any workaround?
 
brianburen
Old
#2  
brianburen's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 67
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowz3r View Post
SUA will not upgrade from NC2 to NC4, any workaround?
I too am wondering this question
 
Tersanyus
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 67
Join Date: Oct 2010
Odin probably. That's what someone said to me on the thread about it. Thinking of trying it. That zip download is going to take a few hours.

---------- Post added at 12:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:32 AM ----------

Yeah going thru Odin seems to do it just fine assuming you have the tar file. It was just like flashing the NC2 leak. Flash the tar file in Odin using the AP button. I made sure the Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time were checked (they were by default it seems). Good news is, it did not wipe my phone it seems, or maybe I forgot to check that option.
 
fletch33
Old
(Last edited by fletch33; 14th May 2014 at 03:18 AM.)
#4  
fletch33's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 192
Posts: 791
Join Date: Jan 2010
best to WAIT until devs release an upgrade path they have tested. if you ODIN you may end up same as OTA and without root until maybe forever but who knows. if you dont care about root then go ahead.

BeansTown106 has already posted he has a copy of it and will work on releasing a pre-root just like NC2 so you can keep on the root path.
 
MitchMeister03
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Milwaukee, wi
Quote:
Originally Posted by fletch33 View Post
best to WAIT until devs release an upgrade path they have tested. if you ODIN you may end up same as OTA and without root until maybe forever but who knows. if you dont care about root then go ahead.

BeansTown106 has already posted he has a copy of it and will work on releasing a pre-root just like NC2 so you can keep on the root path.
I installed it through ODIN last night, no issues as far as root goes...
 
DrPhant0m
Old
#6  
DrPhant0m's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 275
Join Date: Oct 2010
I'm not here to tell you that you're making a grave mistake... but I would like to know WHY you want to update from NC2 to NC4.

My understanding is that NC2 was Verizon's development version, which has some pretty nice features that they do not want to general public to have, such as the ability to downgrade to MJE, and the software stubs (or whatever jargon you'd prefer) necessary to allow for kernel modules to be installed. This means the potential for a more open (less locked) bootloader. not necessarily fully unlocked, but at least allowing more wiggle room with kernel mods, but possibly fully AOSP-compatible.

That said... I think NC2 passed all the tests, and NC4 is the one that they released with all the locks in place, for public consumption.

So, I query you once again... why would you want to update to NC4? (A root-enabled release from Beans notwithstanding)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Blur Your System Notification Panel – XDA Developer TV

Listen, we love innovative applications and modules that … more