Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

[Q] Status Bar

11th May 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #11  
My Beer Belly's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Taking shots in the dark here, but there is a data usage section under wireless & networks in settings. In that menu there is a toggle for 'alert me about data usage'. You can then drag a slider up and down to set the cap for when your phone warns you about data usage. Maybe yours is dragged to the very bottom so it alerts you about any data usage?

Unlikely because it would show up during everything, but worth asking. Maybe just disabling the notification toggle would work. Also, does your carrier ship with specific software to monitor data usage? If so then check all of those apps settings to see if anything has any effect.
11th May 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #12  
OP Junior Member
Flag Makati
Thanks Meter: 2
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
It doesn't matter whether or not the wifi is on, it still annoyingly pops up. I meant that you really can't disable notifications as it is a system app
11th May 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Flag Makati
Thanks Meter: 2
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by My Beer Belly

Taking shots in the dark here, but there is a data usage section under wireless & networks in settings. In that menu there is a toggle for 'alert me about data usage'. You can then drag a slider up and down to set the cap for when your phone warns you about data usage. Maybe yours is dragged to the very bottom so it alerts you about any data usage?

Unlikely because it would show up during everything, but worth asking. Maybe just disabling the notification toggle would work. Also, does your carrier ship with specific software to monitor data usage? If so then check all of those apps settings to see if anything has any effect.

I've tried that too! It still pops up, and it annoys me. Thanks for the effort though!
No, I don't think so. My S3 never did this. My phone is unlocked from HK
15th May 2014, 04:06 AM   |  #14  
Technowhiteboi's Avatar
Member
Flag Eastcoast
Thanks Meter: 13
 
83 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lostangelintx

Probably Carrier IQ for some reason tracking your location. My LG G2 does the same thing.

I read its some type of traffic usage. Someone here posted a picture of it here. Also I have an option on the ROM I'm running to hide that notification. O don't think its carrier IQ but then again.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
data usage, pop up, status bar
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank