FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

Stuck in Fastboot

500 posts
Thanks Meter: 196
 
By Misterowl, Senior Member on 20th January 2014, 08:29 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Okay so I tried to flash cyanogenmod 11 for the first time on this moto G (US). It bootlooped and I tired to reflash it again and it did the same. There was no way of returning to stock because I had not made a backup. So I tried to flash stock in the bootloader and that didn't work. I went into the recovery and it said 'cant mount /sdcard. So go back into the bootloader and format the sdcard and that doesn't work (which I returned to the recovery to see it not working). I go back and flash twrp thinking that recovery would have something to help me flash a new rom and now I don't even have a working recovery. It takes me straight back to the bootloader and every time I flash a recovery it says Mismatched partition size (recovery) and I am unable to boot into it.

I have no clue on what to do at this point and I need help.
 
 
20th January 2014, 08:32 AM |#2  
Misterowl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
also it says invalid "boot image header!" in red letters
20th January 2014, 02:46 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Helsinki
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219

Install full factory image with fastboot.
21st January 2014, 12:40 AM |#4  
Misterowl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by P.Kosunen

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2542219

Install full factory image with fastboot.

Alright thankyou!

I got everything to work again but I still can't flash roms. They just bootloop :S
21st January 2014, 09:50 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Helsinki
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
It could be too big recovery install with fastboot causes problem, every recovery cwm/twrp i tried to install with fastboot fails.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=234
Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip

Download vocoderisms TWRP build, extract "recovery.img" from it.

After you have kitkat installed and working:

Option 1, use TWRP without install:
Boot to bootloader (adb reboot bootloader), boot twrp (fastboot boot recovery.img) and install rom from there.

Option 2, install TWRP (have not tested):
Upload twrp zip to phone (adb push Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip /sdcard/), boot to bootloader (adb reboot bootloader), boot twrp (fastboot boot recovery.img), install Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip.
Last edited by P.Kosunen; 21st January 2014 at 10:04 AM.
21st January 2014, 06:22 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Flag manchester
Thanks Meter: 72
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterowl

Okay so I tried to flash cyanogenmod 11 for the first time on this moto G (US). It bootlooped and I tired to reflash it again and it did the same. There was no way of returning to stock because I had not made a backup. So I tried to flash stock in the bootloader and that didn't work. I went into the recovery and it said 'cant mount /sdcard. So go back into the bootloader and format the sdcard and that doesn't work (which I returned to the recovery to see it not working). I go back and flash twrp thinking that recovery would have something to help me flash a new rom and now I don't even have a working recovery. It takes me straight back to the bootloader and every time I flash a recovery it says Mismatched partition size (recovery) and I am unable to boot into it.

I have no clue on what to do at this point and I need help.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2LP...VQxN0k/preview this cwm worked for me
21st January 2014, 09:01 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
You do know flashing stock again removes root, so it has to be rerooted again ?
21st January 2014, 09:48 PM |#8  
Misterowl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 196
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aradalien

You do know flashing stock again removes root, so it has to be rerooted again ?


Yes I am very aware and followed through with root with that outcome.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranc88

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B2LP...VQxN0k/preview this cwm worked for me

CWM doesn't work it. It boots up (Im used cyanogenmod) the cyanogenmod boot animation but just stays there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by P.Kosunen

It could be too big recovery install with fastboot causes problem, every recovery cwm/twrp i tried to install with fastboot fails.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...&postcount=234
Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip

Download vocoderisms TWRP build, extract "recovery.img" from it.

After you have kitkat installed and working:

Option 1, use TWRP without install:
Boot to bootloader (adb reboot bootloader), boot twrp (fastboot boot recovery.img) and install rom from there.

Option 2, install TWRP (have not tested):
Upload twrp zip to phone (adb push Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip /sdcard/), boot to bootloader (adb reboot bootloader), boot twrp (fastboot boot recovery.img), install Twrp_MotoG_signed_010814_163615.zip.


I've flashed twrp too and came out with the same outcome.
14th May 2014, 04:41 PM |#9  
vardhanram's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Nellore
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy stuck in fastboot
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misterowl

Okay so I tried to flash cyanogenmod 11 for the first time on this moto G (US). It bootlooped and I tired to reflash it again and it did the same. There was no way of returning to stock because I had not made a backup. So I tried to flash stock in the bootloader and that didn't work. I went into the recovery and it said 'cant mount /sdcard. So go back into the bootloader and format the sdcard and that doesn't work (which I returned to the recovery to see it not working). I go back and flash twrp thinking that recovery would have something to help me flash a new rom and now I don't even have a working recovery. It takes me straight back to the bootloader and every time I flash a recovery it says Mismatched partition size (recovery) and I am unable to boot into it.

I have no clue on what to do at this point and I need help.

Exactly i am also facing same problem....
mobile unable to instal firmware...
still i am searching for solution ...

guys plz help me
15th May 2014, 12:57 PM |#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 63
 
More
I thought I am the only one with this problem..After mailing the phone to SC and got it back after 2 months, the phone still looks the same, just like they did nothing to fix it.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes