Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help! Need to keep root prior to Kitkat upgrade

OP spapesh

13th May 2014, 03:31 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
I am on a locked RAZR HD. If anyone knows how to keep root on the new kitkat upgrade, please share.
13th May 2014, 04:47 AM   |  #2  
Member
Flag Chattanooga
Thanks Meter: 7
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by spapesh

I am on a locked RAZR HD. If anyone knows how to keep root on the new kitkat upgrade, please share.

I'm in the same boat. But, since the leak is only a couple of days out, I'm 99.999% sure that there is only a handful of people that would know the solution. And since they are the ones who created this update in the first place, we will have to wait until our more c rafty comrades get lucky and crack it.

My advice is to hold what you have. Tap and pay is my only motivator to update. And when you boil it down, thats just a gimmick anyhow. Having root has more weight. I updated too soon once. Now I can't unlock.
13th May 2014, 05:31 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 528
 
2,609 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
There is no way. Not voodoo or superSU. Only unlocked boots should be taking the OTA!
13th May 2014, 02:01 PM   |  #4  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 524
 
1,580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MarcusWhite

I'm in the same boat. But, since the leak is only a couple of days out, I'm 99.999% sure that there is only a handful of people that would know the solution. And since they are the ones who created this update in the first place, we will have to wait until our more c rafty comrades get lucky and crack it.

My advice is to hold what you have. Tap and pay is my only motivator to update. And when you boil it down, thats just a gimmick anyhow. Having root has more weight. I updated too soon once. Now I can't unlock.

Also, if you do happen to get root back for the locked bootloaders, the Sqlite tethering hack doesn't work anymore as well. They fixed that exploit with the KK update.

However, as long as you have root, there is another hack to make it work. I posted another thread on how to do this at http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2749659.
The Following User Says Thank You to iBolski For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Cannot install even after removing SafeStrap and SuperSU
I have a Verizon Motorola RAZR MAXX HD running 9.18.94.XT926. I had rooted the phone, was using SafeStrap and SuperSU. I removed both but the OTA for KitKat still fails. Any ideas?
The Following User Says Thank You to frankomali For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #6  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 524
 
1,580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankomali

I have a Verizon Motorola RAZR MAXX HD running 9.18.94.XT926. I had rooted the phone, was using SafeStrap and SuperSU. I removed both but the OTA for KitKat still fails. Any ideas?

It's because the phone is still modified. You'll have to sbf back to a stock version.


Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to iBolski For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th May 2014, 06:09 PM   |  #7  
robdec17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Any hope for those of us who are rooted , unlocked and currently running CM11?
15th May 2014, 06:47 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
yes I reverted back to stock. worked fine but root is gone of course and whats weird is no developer options in settings to enable usb debugging?

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk
15th May 2014, 07:03 PM   |  #9  
robdec17's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
195 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by davekaz

yes I reverted back to stock. worked fine but root is gone of course and whats weird is no developer options in settings to enable usb debugging?

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk


Ok I think Ill stick with CM11 for now. I prefer to keep root
15th May 2014, 07:17 PM   |  #10  
iBolski's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 524
 
1,580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davekaz

yes I reverted back to stock. worked fine but root is gone of course and whats weird is no developer options in settings to enable usb debugging?

Sent from my KFTHWI using Tapatalk

It's there. Go to Settings, then select "About Phone". Scroll down to "Build Number" and keep tapping on it. Eventually, it will tell you developer mode has been enabled.

This was the same under Jelly Bean.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes