Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,740,547 Members 45,539 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Sprint Roms work on Virgin mobile s3?

Tip us?
 
Trozzul
Old
#1  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Sprint Roms work on Virgin mobile s3?

i see that the Galaxy s3 (virgin mobile) is getting cheaper on amazon and i would like to buy it but since its virgin mobile i doubt there would be many roms for it. i did a little research and i see that the sprint has the same model number as virgin, i also saw a thread where someone tried to flash sprint Cyanogenmod onto a virgin s3 and worked. pretty much my question is, will Sprint roms work on my virgin s3? or would someone recommend i go for another phone all together, i have been thinking about a LG phone or either a Sony xperia SP/ZL/Z.
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.2) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113
Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.2) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations on amazon?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
bilgerryan
Old
#2  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24690
Posts: 14,424
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Yes all Sprint ROMs work on VM and Boost.

The Following User Says Thank You to bilgerryan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Trozzul
Old
#3  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Yes all Sprint ROMs work on VM and Boost.

is there any specific things i need todo? maybe flash the boot.img separately? im not using it for phone service.
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.2) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113
Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.2) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations on amazon?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
roirraW "edor" ehT
Old
(Last edited by roirraW "edor" ehT; 15th May 2014 at 09:03 PM.)
#4  
roirraW "edor" ehT's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1336
Posts: 3,077
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Columbus, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
is there any specific things i need todo? maybe flash the boot.img separately? im not using it for phone service.
What ROM are you wanting to install? You need to do the same things to do that a Sprint customer needs to, no difference. No difference whether using for phone service or not.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.
The Following User Says Thank You to roirraW "edor" ehT For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Trozzul
Old
#5  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by roirraW "edor" ehT View Post
What ROM are you wanting to install? You need to do the same things to do that a Sprint customer needs to, no difference. No difference whether using for phone service or not.

Sent from my Sprint Samsung Galaxy SIII with M.O.A.R. v9.0, dkp kernel dated 3/20/2014 and TWRP v2.7.0.0.
i dont have the device yet so im not sure on a rom i will use, i have yet to use samsungs new 4.3/4.4 stock rom i might keep it up on that. i own a t989 Galaxy s2, im guessing same process? no locked bootloaders? i dont remember if some of the s3's came with a locked bootloader, maybe it was the s4's
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.2) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113
Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.2) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations on amazon?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
bilgerryan
Old
#6  
bilgerryan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 24690
Posts: 14,424
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Garrett, IN

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
i dont have the device yet so im not sure on a rom i will use, i have yet to use samsungs new 4.3/4.4 stock rom i might keep it up on that. i own a t989 Galaxy s2, im guessing same process? no locked bootloaders? i dont remember if some of the s3's came with a locked bootloader, maybe it was the s4's
Odin recovery, flash root... Pretty easy. No locked Bootloader that's AT&T and Verizon

The Following User Says Thank You to bilgerryan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Trozzul
Old
#7  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bilgerryan View Post
Odin recovery, flash root... Pretty easy. No locked Bootloader that's AT&T and Verizon

thought so, AT&T and Verizon can be pretty harsh. not sure what made them do this all of a sudden. Greed?
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.2) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113
Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.2) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations on amazon?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
#8  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 750
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
is there any specific things i need todo? maybe flash the boot.img separately? im not using it for phone service.
If you flash any Sprint ROM, you may get assert errors in custom recovery. To fix this you must remove all asserts from ROM, rezip, then flash.
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
The Following User Says Thank You to joeyhdownsouth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Trozzul
Old
#9  
Trozzul's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 193
Posts: 1,464
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyhdownsouth View Post
If you flash any Sprint ROM, you may get assert errors in custom recovery. To fix this you must remove all asserts from ROM, rezip, then flash.
so i had this problem with my Galaxy captivate i would get the assert errors/error status 7, and when i did remove the asserts. i would get a status 6 error. and nobody would help me out, i googled it and not much came up
"Oh, you can't help that,' said the Cat: 'we're all mad here. I'm mad. You're mad.'
"How do you know I'm mad?' said Alice.
"You must be,' said the Cat, 'or you wouldn't have come here."

Motorola Moto X
Stock KitKat (4.4.2) XT1060
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
Rom: Cyanogemod 11 (4.4.4) P5113
Asus Nexus 7
Stock (4.4.2) Broken Digitizer, any recommendations on amazon?
Chromecast
Stock
Nikon Coolpix s800c
Stock Gingerbread (2.3.3)
 
joeyhdownsouth
Old
#10  
joeyhdownsouth's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 165
Posts: 750
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Creole State
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trozzul View Post
so i had this problem with my Galaxy captivate i would get the assert errors/error status 7, and when i did remove the asserts. i would get a status 6 error. and nobody would help me out, i googled it and not much came up
I just did it to a Boost S3 a month ago. Now runs AOSB flawlessly, except for only having 3g and MMS or 4g and no MMS. Virgin and Boost kinda the same.

sent from my GS3
G2(Sprint)-stock
G3(Sprint)-stock
Galaxy S3(Sprint)-ROM:C-rom/KERNEL:dkp-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Galaxy S5(Boost)-ROM/KERNEL:M.O.A.R.-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Moto G(unlocked to CellularOne)-ROM/KERNEL:LiquidSmooth-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced
Note 10.1-ROM/KERNEL:Hyperdrive-RECOVERY:Philz CWM Advanced

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joeyhdownsouth For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes