Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,085 Members 43,884 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] TWRP can't find any zip files I put onto phone!

Tip us?
 
Altom85
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hershey
Default [Q] TWRP can't find any zip files I put onto phone!

A few weird things are happening on my phone and I'm quite concerned (even though it's actually working perfectly fine, which is the weirdest part of all!)

A little background: I recently wiped my phone and flashed the Sense 5 Android 4.3, stock rom. Now I'm trying to flash Viper 4.0.

First of all, as the title suggests, whenever I put a zip file on my phone it doesn't show in the TWRP recovery. I downloaded the correct one on the site (the newest one for the HTC EVO 4G LTE) so I don't think that's the problem. Also, I tried to push the file Viper zip onto my phone using this program called WinDroid Toolkit, and it claims it did but when I go into TWRP I cannot see the zip file at all, and if I try to use other folder names (such as the 'boot' folder I saw when I was in TWRP recovery) it says those folders don't exist!

Second of all, TWRP claims there is no OS installed on my phone but when I reboot my phone, it's fine! It just goes to the home screen as usual and it works perfectly fine... so I don't understand this warning but I couldn't shake the feeling that this was relevant to my issue.

I've been combing the forums looking for this type of problem, and I've tried multiple things but to no avail. I've read snippets about partition problems after formatting some phones but I'm not sure because there doesn't seem to be much information about it (at least from what I could find).
 
Evolution_Freak
Old
#2  
Evolution_Freak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 333
Posts: 620
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: East Stroudsburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altom85 View Post
A few weird things are happening on my phone and I'm quite concerned (even though it's actually working perfectly fine, which is the weirdest part of all!)

A little background: I recently wiped my phone and flashed the Sense 5 Android 4.3, stock rom. Now I'm trying to flash Viper 4.0.

First of all, as the title suggests, whenever I put a zip file on my phone it doesn't show in the TWRP recovery. I downloaded the correct one on the site (the newest one for the HTC EVO 4G LTE) so I don't think that's the problem. Also, I tried to push the file Viper zip onto my phone using this program called WinDroid Toolkit, and it claims it did but when I go into TWRP I cannot see the zip file at all, and if I try to use other folder names (such as the 'boot' folder I saw when I was in TWRP recovery) it says those folders don't exist!

Second of all, TWRP claims there is no OS installed on my phone but when I reboot my phone, it's fine! It just goes to the home screen as usual and it works perfectly fine... so I don't understand this warning but I couldn't shake the feeling that this was relevant to my issue.

I've been combing the forums looking for this type of problem, and I've tried multiple things but to no avail. I've read snippets about partition problems after formatting some phones but I'm not sure because there doesn't seem to be much information about it (at least from what I could find).
Try using the TWRP found here:


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

Sent from my Nexus 5 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
In the age of information, ignorance is a choice.
 
Sinistertensai
Old
(Last edited by Sinistertensai; 15th May 2014 at 02:41 AM.)
#3  
Sinistertensai's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6240
Posts: 1,805
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Philadelphia

 
DONATE TO ME
download this twrp http://d-h.st/7Cr

name it properly and fastboot flash it. after that mount your device to you pc and transfer a rom zip to storage.
The Following User Says Thank You to Sinistertensai For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Altom85
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hershey
Okay, well I flashed that TWRP and now I'm stuck at the white HTC screen. I can't even get into the bootloader, it just continually boots to the white HTC screen. Thoughts?
 
FesterCluck
Old
#5  
FesterCluck's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altom85 View Post
Okay, well I flashed that TWRP and now I'm stuck at the white HTC screen. I can't even get into the bootloader, it just continually boots to the white HTC screen. Thoughts?
RUU or ViperRUU. TBH it sounds like the behavior of a dirty flash. ViperRUU is especially helpful in these situations.

Once done, use the TWRP recommended by Evolution_Freak. There were some major changes to the partitioning in the last few releases, make sure your recovery is appropriate for your ROM.
The Following User Says Thank You to FesterCluck For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Altom85
Old
(Last edited by Altom85; 16th May 2014 at 12:00 PM.) Reason: Clarification, additional info
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hershey
Quote:
Originally Posted by FesterCluck View Post
RUU or ViperRUU. TBH it sounds like the behavior of a dirty flash. ViperRUU is especially helpful in these situations.

Once done, use the TWRP recommended by Evolution_Freak. There were some major changes to the partitioning in the last few releases, make sure your recovery is appropriate for your ROM.
Ok it's not stuck anymore, I can get into recovery and bootloader, so I'm not in a panic anymore at least However, my computer is not detecting my phone, nor is VipeRUU. If I try to mount to the computer via TWRP, nothing comes up. BTW my recovery is 2.7.8.0b now. Still no OS, still gets stuck on the HTC screen until I boot to recovery or bootloader


Edit: Now the computer tries to install drivers for my phone whenever I plug it in. It pops up as HTC MTP Device, always fails to install, then has a warning in the device manager. So I uninstalled the drivers, uninstalled HTC Sync, reinstalled HTC Sync. Didn't help. This is beyond frustrating...

Edit 2: After scouring the internet someone said to lock the bootloader and that'll allow my PC to see my phone. Well, now i have a RELOCKED (that's what it says on top) bootloader and I'm no closer to the solution methinks. I'm ready to just throw this phone out the window.

Edit 3: I actually discovered ViperRUU has a way to bypass the initial screen so I can use it in bootloader. Great, except now it's stuck on "Flashing..." and has been for half an hour. I really might throw this phone out the window.

5th and final edit: VipeRUU just would not work at all, so I had to go back to an older stock RUU, which sucks but at least my phone is working now Thanks for your help guys!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Slide Dial Replacement Dialer Lets You Make Calls from Anywhere

If you frequently make phone calls, your dialer (aka phone app)is one of the … more

Navigate with Your Samsung Gear 2 Using DMA Navi Watch

Whether you’re travelling to a new destination or exploring some previously … more

Xperia Z1 Stereo Speaker Mod, Cell Phone Unlocking Legal Again! – XDA Developer TV

Cell Phone Unlocking is legal again!! That and much … more