Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Fight the Heat and Conserve Battery with EaseUS Coolphone

Memory hungry Android applications are often responsible for making our device … more

Battery Charged in 30 Seconds? Maybe in 2016

Phones and tablets are getting more and more power hungry with each passing generation. Their … more

ZArchive Manages Your File Archives

Today smartphones are quite powerful devices that can handle multiple processes at once. In fact, some of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Reward] Modding S5 Browser Search Engines

OP GamingWiidesire

10th May 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 445
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hey guys,

could anyone of you decompile SBrowser.apk from here: https://mega.co.nz/#!fghHgZKQ!2NGBoJ...0jJTv5S60cA9gs

Framework for decompiling:

https://mega.co.nz/#!WB5mUSaA!UJOEZm...OcmpJUx_WNtY2c
https://mega.co.nz/#!vYhRXA4D!Do2Gwf...i3BlK9hJ5Ct1eo

then add to /res/values/arrays.xml the following lines:

<string-array name="'DuckDuckGo">
<item>DuckDuckGo</item>
<item>duckduckgo.com</item>
<item>https://duckduckgo.com/favicon.ico</item>
<item>https://duckduckgo.com/?q={searchTerms}</item>
<item>UTF-8</item>
<item></item>
</string-array>
<string-array name="DuckDuckGoBeta">
<item>DuckDuckGoBeta</item>
<item>next.duckduckgo.com</item>
<item>https://next.duckduckgo.com/favicon.ico</item>
<item>https://next.duckduckgo.com/?q={searchTerms}</item>
<item>UTF-8</item>
<item></item>
</string-array>

and under <string-array name="search_engines">

add:

<item>DuckDuckGo</item>
<item>DuckDuckGoBeta</item>

and then go to res\values-de-rDE\arrays.xml (<-- I'm from Germany, but you can also edit every other arrays.xml for other countries if you want to) and add under <string-array name="search_engines">:

<item>DuckDuckGo</item>
<item>DuckDuckGoBeta</item>

compile and then send the apk to me?

I'm too stupid myself to properly decompile, I always get errors. So anybody who is able to add DuckDuckGo and DuckDuckGoBeta to the selection of the Search Engines on the S5 browser provided above will get a nice donation from me via paypal - 3-5€ (of course only if you want to )

Thanks for help!

Sincerely,

GamingWiidesire
Last edited by GamingWiidesire; 10th May 2014 at 06:47 PM.
10th May 2014, 08:33 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
3-5 dollars is a bit stingy for a lot of work. I would charge maybe 150 for their hard work and thus is why you have no replies

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to patch81 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th May 2014, 08:41 PM   |  #3  
android.zealot.fervor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ★◢↿MUSCAT↾◣★
Thanks Meter: 1,441
 
1,200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by patch81

3-5 dollars is a bit stingy for a lot of work. I would charge maybe 150 for their hard work and thus is why you have no replies

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

LOL...Agree bro.
I would charge 300$ for such work.
10th May 2014, 08:57 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 445
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Sorry I can only provide 10000$ maximum
11th May 2014, 01:31 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 445
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
If possible, please use the updated browser for the mod: https://mega.co.nz/#!ixgjlaoL!YzVqVA...uj6rQPUTbk5CUg

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk
15th May 2014, 10:10 PM   |  #6  
Rami_Debab's Avatar
Member
Flag Rouiba
Thanks Meter: 17
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Cool Done
Here you go
Moded from the latest link you posted , added everthing , compiled and signed try it and give me a feedback please

Link : MEGA
The Following User Says Thank You to Rami_Debab For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 445
 
613 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Thanks for the help! Unfortunately it says Internet stopped everytime I start it. Cleaned cache+data. Seems like something is wrong with the code I posted. Maybe you could try to remove yahoo and ask.com, because maybe it can only show 4 search engines? I don't know :/

Gesendet von meinem GT-I9505 mit Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes