Post Reply

Is there no way to make CC work through a proxy server?

16th May 2014, 11:25 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hi folks,

Our school features HD-beamers in every classroom, so chromecasts would be ideal for the teachers to present their stuff on a large screen.

That said our school is connected to the internet via a proxy-server, which offers content-protection.
I cannot touch the proxy-servers configuration so i would really need a way to make chromecast work through a proxy.
I managed to use my android-phone with the proxy via sandroproxy.

I am not a programmer and do not know about the problems in detail but from a general perspective it shouldn't be too difficult for the chromecast to direct all internet-connections through a certain server and port is it?

Would be glad if someone came up with a solution.

Jörg Bilert
16th May 2014, 03:00 PM   |  #2  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 860
 
2,199 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talmar Grosskotz

Our school features HD-beamers in every classroom, so chromecasts would be ideal for the teachers to present their stuff on a large screen.

That said our school is connected to the internet via a proxy-server, which offers content-protection.
I cannot touch the proxy-servers configuration so i would really need a way to make chromecast work through a proxy.
I managed to use my android-phone with the proxy via sandroproxy.

I am not a programmer and do not know about the problems in detail but from a general perspective it shouldn't be too difficult for the chromecast to direct all internet-connections through a certain server and port is it?

Chromecast is difficult because there is very little you can configure, and unlike your phone you can't sideload - or load apps in general.
Instead of doing it on a per-device basis, it might be easier to see if the WiFi access point or router can be made to go through the proxy, similar to how some routers can be made to connect to a VPN, etc.
17th May 2014, 05:03 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 307
 
1,803 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I would think that all the setup needed would already be done for you on the AP side of things.
(if done correctly) You shouldn't need to configure anything it should all be setup to use the proxy on any connection.
Most proxies are set to only deny certain sites not all except...

Do you have to enter proxy information in your browser manually to get onto the net? If so or if IT comes in to setup your computer before you can browse with it the first time, then it's probably not set up automatically.

If you explain to your IT Dept what it is your trying to do I am willing to bet they can make an exception for the MAC Addy of the CCast.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Google Chromecast by ThreadRank