T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

Can't mount system as r/w on rooted device

OP dan-youd

15th May 2014, 01:16 PM   |  #1  
dan-youd's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Hi. I will try to give as much info as possible so bare with me.

I have a Sony Z1 C6903 on build 14.3.A.0.757 Android 4.4.2

I rooted it using a prerooted firmware method with duel recovery (I think by doomlord not 100%) which involved downgrading my firmware back to Jellybean then rooting it and then flashing the prerooted firmware ect..

The root method worked perfectly and my device is fully working, but just recently I tried installing the features for the camera from the Z2 which involves moving the apk to the system/app folder but none of the apps can mount my system as r/w, I have tried ES File Explorer, Root Explorer, Total Commander and even TWRP's built in file manager and all of which are granted root access by SuperSU but won't mount the system as r/w.

I checked with root checker and it says I'm rooted and all other root apps seem to be working fine. I also have an LG G-Pad 8.3 on kitkat rooted and a Samsung Galaxy S2 on Cyanogenmod 11 both of which can mount the file system as r/w and I've rooted a lot of other devices with no issue.

One thing that doesn't make a lot of sense is that none of the apps can mount system as r/w on my Z1 yet if I tell SuperSU to install itself to the system from its own menu it works with no problem.

I just need a solution to this issue and would rather not reroot it again as the root method for this device is a pita, it's also worth mentioning that I can't unlock the bootloader on my device to root it that way as my phone has "Unlock Bootloader Allowed:" set to No.

Thanks.

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
15th May 2014, 05:23 PM   |  #2  
hush66's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 395
 
830 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I'm not sure but it sounds like you're using an older version of recovery that didn't allow full root.

Try flashing the latest version of NUT's XZDualRecovery (Z1-lockeddualrecovery2.7.123):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2261606
15th May 2014, 06:57 PM   |  #3  
dan-youd's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hush66

I'm not sure but it sounds like you're using an older version of recovery that didn't allow full root.

Try flashing the latest version of NUT's XZDualRecovery (Z1-lockeddualrecovery2.7.123):

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2261606

I will try that a bit later. Think the version I'm on is 2.7.75beta

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
15th May 2014, 07:46 PM   |  #4  
dan-youd's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan-youd

I will try that a bit later. Think the version I'm on is 2.7.75beta

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk

Just upgraded the recovery. All went well but still having the same issue

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
16th May 2014, 12:10 PM   |  #5  
cargobr151's Avatar
Senior Member
Karscht
Thanks Meter: 937
 
299 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
@dan-youd
You can try this:

Download this UPDATE-SuperSU-v1.94.zip from chainfire, copy the zip on your phone reboot into recovery and flash it.
16th May 2014, 12:32 PM   |  #6  
dan-youd's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Chester
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
More
Just tried it now. TWRP wouldn't flash it because it wouldn't mount the system but CWM flashed it no problem. Got back into the OS and still same problem

Sent from my C6903 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Z1 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank