Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,194 Members 42,282 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC one Root Problem

Tip us?
 
indeedo
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Default [Q] HTC one Root Problem

Hello guys.. Im total noob and as a total noob i should of asked first before do something like this. Anyway my problem is i have HTC one m7. Great phone but i got a bit bored so i decided to root it. And there is the problem i didnt manage to install anything because the phone says i cant mount "sdcard" i tried couple of roms but still its not working. Can you please good people give me some help.. If you have some questions ill try to answer them. Have a great day Cheers.
I tried flashing under TWRP and CWRK.
 
bored_stupid
Old
#2  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Is your bootloader unlocked.
what version of TWRP/CWM are or have you tried.
What rom or custom rom are you running.

Post a fastboot getvar all minus imei no and serial no.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
indeedo
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
Is your bootloader unlocked.
what version of TWRP/CWM are or have you tried.
What rom or custom rom are you running.

Post a fastboot getvar all minus imei no and serial no.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

This is the "getvar"

fastboot getvar all
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.56.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4A.23.3263.28
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main: 4.20.708.10
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON
(bootloader) serialno: FA38EW905719
(bootloader) imei: 355859054456058
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0714000
(bootloader) cidnum: HTC__622
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4292mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-f6d46eca
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0

About the bootloader locked or no i did what i was suppose to... They send me a token which i used to unlock it! thanks for the respond!

This is what im using right now. "recovery-clockwork-touch-6.0.4.8-m7"
 
bored_stupid
Old
#4  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Install TWRP 2.6.3.3 from here
http://techerrata.com/file/twrp2/m7/...2.6.3.3-m7.img

Check MD5 on the download.

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=how+do+i+check+md5

Install recovery

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader

Enter recovery back up rom
When you exit, TWRP will ask if you want to root..


Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
indeedo
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bored_stupid View Post
Install TWRP 2.6.3.3 from here


Check MD5 on the download.



Install recovery

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader

Enter recovery back up rom
When you exit, TWRP will ask if you want to root..


Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Hey thanks again for the fast respond.. keep in mind im total noob and yes i know i should not play with what i dont understand..
What i need to check with md5 program you posted me? And after installing openrecovery i still cant make back up because says "cant mount cache" and i cant mount it manually as well. Still there is a error message "no device detected"
 
bored_stupid
Old
#6  
bored_stupid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 182
Posts: 666
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Hereford
Quote:
Originally Posted by indeedo View Post
Hey thanks again for the fast respond.. keep in mind im total noob and yes i know i should not play with what i dont understand..
What i need to check with md5 program you posted me? And after installing openrecovery i still cant make back up because says "cant mount cache" and i cant mount it manually as well. Still there is a error message "no device detected"
Read here on how to mount cache

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2254292

Read here on how to check MD5

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=how+do+i+check+md5

Read here on how to get pc to recognise phone

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...24&postcount=2




Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Remove Unnecessary WhatsApp Elements with Xposed

In modern life, you can’t underestimate the power ofthe dark sidemessaging … more

MaR-V-iN to Talk Google and Android APIs at XDA:DevCon 2014

Our international xda:devcon 14in Manchester, UK on the weekend of September … more

But First, Let Me Take a #Selfie

“Today while browsing XDA,I’m going tocheck to seeif my favorite ROM has been updated–but … more